Lost in Time: Melissa de la Cruz

Everyone has probably noticed my lack of updating as of late.  This is due to several factors most of them being law school and having pneumonia.  Oh yeah, I have pneumonia and have to go to school.  The good news is, I’ll be trying to update again on a semi-regular basis provided that my work load doesn’t get any worse and I don’t develop yet another secondary infection.

Enough about my own personal drams though.  I am about to review one of the most epic books of 2011.  This book being Lost in Time by Melissa de la Cruz.  As many of you know I featured Blue Bloods as the first book series in my Series Saturdays feature and the sixth book was recently released.  I not only got the pleasure of reading it, but meeting Melissa de la Cruz as well at a signing.   Not only did I get my books signed, got to gush over Melissa, but I also got to hear speak about her dealings with the publishing industry and Hollywood.  Very interesting stuff.

Alright on to the actual book review:

Summary: After a beautiful bonding ceremony Schuyler and Jack must separate ways.  Schuyler to Egypt to find the gate of promise, while Jack goes off to face a blood trial with his twin, Mimi.  Mimi, however, has other problems to deal with like rescuing sexy Silver Blood, Kingsley Martin, from hell, and keeping the coven together despite the many attacks that have gone on.  

 Review: If there is one word I would use to describe Lost in Time it is epic.  Grant it, it’s not my favorite book out of the series- The Van Alen Legacy still takes the cake- it’s a big improvement from it’s predecessor,  Misguided Angel.  Lost in Time is a book of action.  Lots of things are discovered in this book, and ending was one delicious cliff hanger.  One problem I did have with this book was Allegra’s point of view.  Since the fourth book of the series, where one of the protagonist left the series for her own spin off (which is supposed to be released sometime next year, I think)  the third main point of view has alternated between various characters.  In Misguided Angel,  Deming Chen took over this role, while in Lost in Time it was Allegra’s point of view.  In the fifth book, I didn’t really connect to Deming that much, but I thought she had  potential to be a great character.  However, in Lost in Time she becomes a minor character and her story seems rather rushed and borderline cliche (I’m sorry, but I just can’t get behind the pairing that Melissa put her into it reminded me a bit too much like this, see five minute mark).  I couldn’t connect with Allegra much either.  Although, her point of view does explain her backstory and raises more questions about her relationship with Charles, I still find her to be a very vapid character who made poor choices based off of fear and selfishness.  Point of view issues aside, I really loved this book.  I thought both Mimi and Schuyler made excellent strides as characters.  Especially Mimi.  Both girls have to make some rather dramatic choices that cause their lives to change .  I also am in awe over their love interests and best friend Oliver.  I think that might be Melissa’s best talent, creating delectable love interests.

Best Feature: Egypt.  The majority of this book takes place in Egypt and I love anything that has to deal with this country.  From it’s unique interesting history, style, and mythology.  Egypt is a place where you know things are going to happen and has almost an otherworldly quality about it.   It also is probably a plus because I was thinking of going as Cleopatra for Halloween this year, though now I am leaning more towards Supergirl.

Worst Feature: Evil cliffhangers.  This book ends with a cliffhanger  that will leave your mouth hanging open.  I suppose that is a good thing, except of course the fact that the next and last book in the series isn’t going to be published until January 2013.

More Casting: I’ve cast most of the roles but I suppose there are a few roles I’ve missed.

Allegra: For some reason I picture Michelle Williams playing Sky’s momma.  Perhaps it’s because of the super short hair.

Those Lennox Boys: Hmm, perhaps Shia LaBeouf.  While I can’t forgive him for that monstrosity that was suppose to be an Indiana Jones movie; I do think he can look strong and stoic, and he does know how to fight robots which means he might be able to fight psycho vampires.  So yes, maybe he could play the Lennox twins.

Overall Rating: Nine out of ten blood pops.

Leave a Reply

