Every Other Day: Jennifer Lynn Barnes

I’ve been wanting to read this book for awhile. It’s not the first Jennifer Lynn Barnes book I’ve read. That would be her squad series-a fantastic series about cheerleaders who are secret agents in training- and I have Raised by Wolves in my TBR pile. I decided to read this book by her first though, mainly because I’m a little burnt out on werewolves and I found the whole concept behind this one intriguing.

Summary: Kali D’Angelo lives in a world where monsters are real. Where hellhounds are put on the endangered species list and studying these creatures is a legitimate degree. Problem is, girl herself is a little (actually, a lot) messed up. Every other day, Kali turns into a lean, mean, monster hunting machine. That wouldn’t be so bad if monsters only appeared every other day. On one of her “off” days, Kali finds herself in a situation that requires her unique skills when she does not posses them which changes her life forever.

Review: Okay, this book was amazing. It had it’s faults which I’ll get to soon enough, but overall I loved it. It really was one of those books you had stay up all night with to find up what happens next. Kali was a real treat. Barnes created a three dimensional character with real problems and faults. The supporting cast was great as well, they defied archetypes. The plot itself was well thought out as well. The lone complaint I had about this book its the use of science. Personally, I loved how Barnes wove in all the Darwin talk throughout the book. I could see the science talk though affecting/alienating  uneducated readers though. And it’s not because the whole evolution issue either (which really isn’t even an issue in the book) it’s just the complexity of these principles might come with a little difficulty to some to understand without some background about Darwin and his journey on the Beagle.

Best Feature: Characters. This is a big plus in my book. If you can write decent characters you have me. Barnes’ characters aren’t only realistic, but they come off as very real. Each of the characters has their own unique quirks and problems of their own. She even keeps herself from falling into the popular Mean Girl trap, by making Bethany a relatable character as well. Bravo, Ms. Barnes.

Worst Feature: Information Overload.   Honestly, I would say that nothing is wrong with this book. But I’m going to be picky because A) This is a book review blog, B) I’m naturally a very critical person, and C) I need to put something in this section. As previously stated I can see someone having difficulty with understanding scientific concepts having some issues with this book. But honestly, they can get over it. I really enjoyed all the science talk myself.

Blockbuster Worthy: Yes. A monster hunting movie is always in. Here’s who I’d cast:

Kali: Teresa Patel. Okay, so I don’t know that many actresses of Indian descent. And Teresa’s acting skills needs some work, but I think she could pull off Kali. The character she played on One Life to Live has that sweet sort of easy to overlook quality that Kali has about her. So she might be able to pull this one off.

Zev: Tom Sturridge.  I’ll just say the eyes have it.

Bethany: Jane Levy.  Bet you thought I was going to pick Emma Stone for this role, didn’t you?  Since Beth is a strong, sassy, supporting role.  Well, I almost did.  But I didn’t.  I think Jane has a little bit softer look to her which I see Beth having.

Overall Rating: Nine out of ten stakes.

Leave a Reply

