Classic Week: Prom and Prejudice by Elizabeth Eulberg

Last week I decided to randomly pick a selection from my huge TBR pile and chose Prom and Prejudice.  As it’s name would suggest it’s essentially a modern retelling of the Jane Austen classic, Pride and Prejudice which I’ve already stated is one of my favorite books.  Before I start this review, I want to note that I find it particularly interesting that there is such a strong subgenere of Austen inspired work/retellings is out there.  While Austen is a particular favorite author of mine, I have to wonder why her work is often retold while other authors work is often left untouched.  A mystery for another day, perhaps?

General Summary: Essentially it’s the same story as Pride and Prejudice.  Girl meets boy.  Girl hates boy.  Girl later finds out that she thought wrong about boy and falls in love with him.  Of course with this being a modern adaption certain changes had to be made.  For instance, the whole Collins’ subplot was changed as well as the Georgiana storyline .  One of the biggest changes in Eulberg’s novel was to have Elizabeth not be related to any of the other Bennets.  Rather,  she was Jane’s roommate at a rich well to do prep school.

Review: I’ve read several Pride and Prejudice retellings throughout the years.  Most of them have been adult books this was the first YA adaption of the novel I read.  And I was pleasantly surprised.  I liked Eulberg’s versions of Elizabeth and Darcy.  I particularly liked the fact that Elizabeth had a life outside her love life.  Meaning, I loved the fact that she was some sort of piano prodigy.  It’s refreshing to see in any YA book that the main character has goals that aren’t concentrated and/or obsessed with  finding Edward Cullen.  I also to give kudos to Eulberg for how she handled the Lydia plot.  I personally thought Darcy kicked ass in those scenes.

Best Features: Well Rounded Lady: Once again I’m really impressed that Elizabeth had interests outside of her love life.  And I think it’s especially important to note that Eulberg did this in a Pride and Prejudice adaption of all things when the main point of the novel is it’s love story- so arguably critics argue the novel is a tongue and cheek take on society- but whatever.   You know you so read Pride and Prejudice to enjoy the witty banter between Darcy and Elizabeth.

Worst Feature: Predictability: This was honestly sort of a given since this novel is a retelling.  But I wish there would’ve been a few more unexpected twists here and there.  Nothing really change the overall story, but something that made this book a little more different.

Blockbuster Worthy: Of course.  Hollywood loves Pride and Prejudice and why wouldn’t they want to make a modern adaption starring teeny boppers:

Elizabeth: Lea Michele:  Though Lizzie is a piano piano not powerhouse singer in Eulberg’s version, I can see Michele very easily stepping into Lizzie’s shoes.

 

Darcy: Ethan Peck of course.  If there’s a classic hero that needs to be portrayed in a YA adaption it’s him (though honestly, I wish we could deage Colin Firth and have him play Darcy).

Jane: Kristen Alderson: I think Kristen has the looks to pull off a modern Jane.

Bingley: Chace Crawford: Prep school boy looks, check.  Might be getting a way bit old side now to play the role, but that’s why we typecast.

Overall Rating: Eight out of ten Mr. Darcy’s.

4 thoughts on “Classic Week: Prom and Prejudice by Elizabeth Eulberg

  1. Yeah, I could see how you'd feel that way. But I have to say it's one of the better retellings I've read lately. I often dribble in Austen inspired fiction in the adult world a lot and have read some so called Pride and Prejudice adaptions where they have completely dropped a lot of the plots. For example, there was this one book I read where Darcy was a judge and Elizabeth was a lawyer and the Bingley stuff was reduced heavily and the Lydia/Wickham stuff was dropped entirely. So this one in comparison was not bad at all.

Leave a Reply

