Godess Interrupted: Aimee Carter

About a year ago I read the Goddess Test.  It wasn’t a bad book by any means, but I did have a few problems with it.  However, I was still interested in reading its sequel.  And when I saw that the book was available as an ARC on Net Galley, I couldn’t help but send in a request to read it.  So was I impressed with the sophomore addition in the series?  Hmm…let’s see.

General Summary: Kate thought the biggest thing she had to worry about when she got back to the underworld after her six month vacation was her coronation.  Unfortunately, that’s not the case.  When a titian is awaken from his sleep, Kate and the other gods lives are on the line.  And the only one that can help them is Henry’s ex and Kate’s sister, Persephone.

Review: Sigh, this wasn’t what I was expecting at all.  I was hoping to love this book, the first one had such promise.  It reminded me of Persephone with a Beauty and the Beast twist (and before you ask, Henry was not turned into some deformed monster),  but I found myself shaking my head throughout a lot of its sequel.   Most notably at Kate.  I really liked Kate in the first book.  She was selfless and not in a Pollyanna type way.  Although, the romance between her and Henry was one of the primary plots in the first book,  she had other interests and thoughts and friends.  Her relationship with her dying mother was tearjerking.  But in this book, Kate has turned into Bella Swan one of those girls.  You know, who are obsessed with their instant love significant other and that there’s nothing else important to them in her life.  In fact, rather than being the least bit excited about  meeting her long lost sister, she’s only thinking about how Henry will react to seeing Persephone.  And her thoughts of Persephone are a little less than sisterly.  In addition to Kate’s changing personality, there isn’t much development with the other characters in the book.  Henry in particular.  We’re told that he’s some prize but in reality he’s really just a big wimp.  Seriously, he does freaking nothing but mope around throughout the entire book.  I don’t get it?  Why do girls always go for emo guys like Henry? I get that having a guy who cries is an important thing, but when you’re the freaking lord of the underworld you need to be bad ass.

Best Feature: Cliffhanger: The only reason I’m reading the next one is the pretty jaw dropping cliffhanger at the end of this book.  Carter can pull out the stops when need be which sort of makes me sad considering the rest of the book.

Worst Feature: Pacing: There were many issues I had with this book, but I think the pacing was the biggest problem with it.  For the most part in this book nothing happened.  Relationships and events remained undeveloped and Kate did a lot of moping about Henry.  But when action happened, it was over within a few sentences.  A lot of it was in fact off screen.  This makes for a very frustrated reader since it felt like (to me at least) there was no payoff till the very end of the book. Blockbuster Worthy: Last year, I casted some of the roles of The Goddess Test.  For it’s sequel there’s a few new characters to cast and I think I’ve finally found the perfect Henry. Henry: Last year I did not think about Tom Sturridge when trying to cast the perfect Henry.  Well, he popped in my head while I reading this one and he is now my official Henry.

Persephone: I think Kate Mansi would do a great job playing Kate’s older sister and Henry’s former paramour.

Calliope: Naya Rivera:  I think she can play the femme fatale with all the gusto that needs to be given.

Adonis: He doesn’t have a big role in the book, but it is mentioned that Adonis is drool worthy.  Though if you’ve read Venus and Adonis you would’ve known that already.  So for your viewing pleasure I’m casting Persephone’s lover with Taylor Kitsch.

Overall Rating: Five out of ten goddesses.  I really had high hopes for this one.  But I think at the end of the day this series shouldn’t have been a series.  It ended fine in book one and for a good part of the book  I felt like I was just going through the motions.  However, the last twenty or so pages of the novel, made me interested in reading the third one in the series.

4 thoughts on “Godess Interrupted: Aimee Carter

  1. Brittany, I actually did like the first one (despite it's flaws). I thought it was cute and I did think there was potential for the series. But the second book made me realize that it would've been so much better as a stand alone. I thought one of the strengths about the first one was it's characterization. Here though I could care less though for both leads. Which is something that is a big no no for me. All I have to say, is Carter should be glad she left a pretty epic cliff hanger. I am looking forward to seeing what's in store for the third book.

  2. I didn't request this book because I didn't like the first one enough to be bothered with it. I never grew to like Kate and Henry was NOTHING like my idea of Hades.Plus it really messes with me that Hades and Persephone were the only ones in all of greek mythology that never cheated on each other – they each got one fling, which the other promptly disposed of before cheating could ensue – so the fact that Henry just let Persephone go? Big WIMP!

  3. I thought the first one had potential. It wasn't the best book in the world, but I thought I'd give the sequel a shot. But it's way, way worse than the first one. And if you think Henry's a wimp in the first one….well, in the second one it' s worse. Much worse. I know I said I'd check out the third one only because of the ridiculous cliff hanger, but it will probably either be a Net Galley read or a library read. The biggest disappointment for me though was Kate. She did a complete 180 from how she was in the previous books. I thought she might've sort of had a backbone there. I mean, she did care for her mom. But in this one it's all about Henry all the time. Really disappointing.

Leave a Reply

