Witches of East End: Melissa de la Cruz

Shallow Moment: I always love the covers that Hyperion does for Melissa’s books.  They are spectacular.  

Melissa de la Cruz is one of my favorite authors so when I heard she was doing an adult spinoff series to the Blue Blood series I was intrigued.  Especially when I heard it involved witches.  However, when I actually read the book I found out it wasn’t exactly what I was expecting.

General Summary:The Beauchamp women are cursed to live a life in the mortal world not using their  gifts.  Specifically this means using their magical powers. Of course, they break this magical embargo eventually and that causes havoc to occur in their small town in the Hamptons.

Review:  I was really hoping to like this book a lot more than I ended up liking it.  I suppose I thought it was going to be like an adult Blue Bloods.  But it wasn’t.  There was romance and magic in these books, but I couldn’t connect to the characters like I could with Blue Bloods and there was no Jack Force either.  Really, the closest character I could identify to was Ingrid, and I thought she was your archetypical librarian at times while her sister Freya was a little  promiscuous (aka she cheats on her fiance).  Okay, I could make an exception for Freya’s infidelity if I understood her motives behind cheating on her fiance but there’s no motive there.  She just finds her fiance’s brother hot before coming to this big revelation at the end of the novel.  I really love Melissa’s writing style, but these characters made getting into this book so infuriating.  If I could look past the characters maybe I could’ve enjoyed the book better, but it just seemed that it took a long time for everything to get started. And it wasn’t near as dramatic as it was made out to be.

Best Feature: Norse Mythology:  I liked the fact that de la Cruz decided to go with Norse mythology.  While it sort of throw a wrench into what I thought the Blue Blood series mythology was, after going to a book signing where Melissa was present I sort of understand it better (i.e. she basically takes aspects from all the world’s mythology in her series).   I would’ve preferred some continuity with the overall series,  but I really liked the use of Norse mythology.  You hardly see stories that explore Norse myths and it was sort of cool really getting to learn about it since all my knowledge of it comes from the comics and the movie.

Worst Feature: Unlikeable Heroines: I’m going to be honest I didn’t really like Freya or her mother for that matter.  Ingrid had her moments, but I didn’t really connect to them like I connected to the characters in Blue Bloods.  The best character that was in this book was Mimi Force, who only had a cameo appearance.  I was seriously hoping that I would grow to like one of the protagonists, but for the most part I just didn’t like them.  Take Joanna for example.  She’s an older protagonist and while I enjoyed that aspect, I just found her to be so boring.  There was nothing about her that I could really relate to.  And honestly, there were points she just seemed to be bitter.

Appropriateness: This is definitely an adult book.  There are plenty of violent situations and there’s some sex scenes as well.  But honestly, it’s not that more graphic than your typical Blue Blood novel, so I would say sixteen and over should be able to enjoy these books.

Blockbuster Worthy: While I’m not anxious to see this on film like I am about Blue Bloods, I think this would be more adaptable (there’s less story to tell and it would require a smaller budget).  Here’s who I would cast:

Freya: I think Emma Stone could easily pull off this role.

Ingrid: Ingrid’s said to be a little bit older than Freya (think thirties) and I think Diane Kruger would be a smart choice.

Joanna; I can’t help but cast Martha Stewart in the role even though she’s not an actress.  She can bake and that’s what Joanna is known for.

Overall Rating: Seven out of ten broomsticks.  There were parts of this book I really liked but it just wasn’t what I was hoping for.  I will still check out the sequel though.

2 thoughts on “Witches of East End: Melissa de la Cruz

  1. You're not the first person I talked to who couldn't finish this book. One of my friends who i actually connected to through Melissa's work couldn't get through the first two chapters as well. And it was because of Freya too, lol. I found as the book progressed it got better, but you had to put a lot of faith into it to stomach it in the beginning.

Leave a Reply

