Sweet Shadows: Tera Lynn Childs

The cover is rather generic and this is only a minor pet peeve.  But this cover is shiny which would be okay but the first cover was done with a matte design.  So you don’t get a cohesive look-boo. 

Once there were three sisters whose name all started with the same letter who lived in the city by the bay.  Their lives were perfectly ordinary until they found out their destiny and then they weren’t.

If you’re thinking they’re names are Prue, Piper, and Phoebe you’re wrong.

It’s Greer, Gretchen, and Grace from Tera Lynn Childs’ Sweet trilogy.

If I could afford I’d probably live in San Francisco. 

 

 

General Summary: Grace, Greer, and Gretchen find themselves in a pickle after they find themselves escaping from Gretchen’s loft (it exploded). Secrets about their legacy are revealed and soon the long lost triplets find themselves racing to save one of their own.

Review:

I really liked this book.  Out of Childs’ books this trilogy is probably my favorite series  of hers.  It’s a bit more mature, takes place in a city I really want to visit, and there’s plenty of action to make me smile.  And yeah it’s kind of a Charmed rip off, but not really.  Apart from the book being about sisters with a destiny whose name all starts with the same letter and they all live in the city by the bay, the book differs a lot from the TV show.  And that’s because of the use of Greek mythology.

The triplets are decedents of Medusa.  Lucky for them, they did not inherit her snake hair.

If you’ve read any of Tera’s other books you’re probably aware that she often likes to use Greek mythology in her stories.  And she uses it quite fabulously.  One of the things I liked best about this trilogy is that it incorporates lesser known myths into the plot.  That being said though, there were some things about the world building that bothered me.  Notably, the monkey like creature that Gretchen meets in the abyss.  I think it’s probably from watching too many bad movies but I cannot handle small creatures that don’t use proper grammar it just rubs me the wrong way and is sort of creepy.  But that’s a personal thing.

What’s more of a criticism rather than a personal annoyance is the way some of the characters were handled in this installment.  First thing first, I love the fact that Tera decided to build upon the character Greer.  In the first book, I found Greer to be a borderline snob whose only positive attribute was the fact that she liked designer shoes (got to love a girl with good taste in shoes).  But in this installment, Greer was a lot more fleshed out.  I really felt for her.  True her backstory was a bit cliche, but I still felt it worked even if it was a stretch to believe that she had a black belt in martial arts.  What character I had a problem with was Grace.

I like anyone who has this many shoes.

Full disclosure in the first book I really, really, loved Grace.  I felt like I could identify with her.  She  was the geeky girl you couldn’t help but like.  In this installment, I didn’t like her as much.  She seemed a little young to me and a little goody goody-ish.  Case in point, Grace always seemed to be lecturing Greer or Gretchen about how they should get along and all that shit….Plus, her home life was sooo much better than the other two sisters. This isn’t a bad thing necessary.  I understand that not everyone is going to have a perfect home life.  But at the same time, I don’t think Grace needs to state that her parents are better than Greer’s.  She doesn’t know everything that’s going down at Greer’s and she shouldn’t make assumptions.  Also, her interactions with her family just don’t seem real.  For example, her parents freak out when she’s just a little late while they’re flippant about her brother being gone for days.  The same goes to her parents reaction at the end it just seems so nonchalant.

Another big pet peeve I had with the book was the adoption process of the triplets themselves.  I don’t know how the California family law works–Cali law is just weird in general and the family law course offered at my school just focuses on state law-but I have a difficult time believing that Cali law would allow abusive drug addicts to adopt a child.  Foster maybe and that would be stretching it.  But adopt?  No way in hell.  First of all do you know how expensive adoption is?  And for that matter, there are a ton of background checks involved in the process as well.

 

Best Feature: Greer.  I really didn’t like Greer in the first book but she really, really grew on me in this installment.  I might even say that she’s my favorite character in the series (though I still really like Gretchen).  I was amazed at how much Tera was able to flesh out her character.  And how she’s gone from being my least favorite character to my favorite character in a span of one book.   Grant it, Grace’s character sort of suffered because of this but still big improvement on Greer.

Worst Feature: Choppiness.  One of the big issues I have with this book is the way it’s structured.  The book is told in first  person through alternative chapters.  And while it worked, I felt like there were a lot of moments of character development that were chopped off because of the switching POVs.  Maybe the point of views revolved per book rather than per chapter, it would’ve worked.  Shrugs…

Appropriateness: This is a pretty clean book.  There’s a kissing scene and some monster hunting.  But with in comparison with some of the YA out there it’s squeaky clean.

Blockbuster Worthy: I already casted the main roles.  Obviously, this would be a great movie or TV series.  Actually,  I’m thinking TV series via CW or ABC Family.  If you want to see who I cast for the roles click here.

Overall Rating: Seven out of ten fangs.  This was a great book.  And I really thought that there were parts of it that were absolutely brilliant.  There were just a few things that made the experience a little lack luster though.  However, I still highly recommend this one.  I think Tera Lynn Childs is an author to watch and what really amazes me about her writing is that she does seem to get better with each book she produces.

2 thoughts on “Sweet Shadows: Tera Lynn Childs

  1. This series is way better than her mermaid ones at least in my opinion. I didn't hate the fin books, but I do think they were a bit middle gradish and a little too fluffy. So I can understand why you didn't like it. These books are probably her most meaty–not that it's saying much since it's still fluff–but I definitely think about giving it a try if you like Charmed and Greek mythology.

Leave a Reply

