Supernaturally: Kiersten White

For some reason Supernaturally sat on my TBR shelf for way too long.  It’s time to get reviewing so I can by Endlessly and finish the trilogy.

General Summary: Evie is back and is living the life of a normal girl.  However, being normal can be pretty boring.  So when the IPCA offers Evie her old job back a girl can’t help but say yes.  But will accepting her old job back put her relationship with Lend at risk?

Review:
I really liked Paranormalcy.  It was the first fey or feyish type book that I actually liked and sort of got and I think it was because it wasn’t solely a fey book.
Is it just me or are faeries just a bit creepy?

There is so much going for this series.  It has great characters.  In the first book I loved how naive Evie was.  In this book she’s still a bit naive, but she’s a bit more jaded.  I liked the fact that she realized that high school wasn’t as great and she sort of longed for her life with the IPCA.

Reality and regrets those are some rather heavy themes.  But the book wasn’t all heavy.  It did have it’s light moments.   Okay, it had a lot of light moments.  But somehow the fluff in this book was sustainable.

Sustainable fluff.  It does exist.

In addition to character development, I thought the plot also developed nicely in this installment.  White answered lots of questions yet at the same time I had even more questions by the time this book was over and I didn’t feel like these questions were added in here just to drag out the series.  Everything just clicked.

Despite the fact that I really liked this book, I felt like things ended ridiculously fast. The climax only took a page or two to resolved and honestly it’s resolution was kind of lame.  But other than that,  I can’t really  complain

Best Feature: Plot development.  There were a lot of big reveals in this book that I think are going to make Endlessly a great finale.  Not only were the twists excellent, but I like the fact that there actual relevant plot progression with this installment.  A lot of the time in YA sequels seem a bit obligatory.  Especially the second book in said series, this one did not.  I felt like There was a purpose to Supernatrually and that it was actually had a role in the series.
Definitely in my TPR pile.
Worst Feature: Whiplash.  This book’s ending comes out of nowhere.  Seriously, it takes Evie about a page to figure out how to get out of a certain realm and get home and the book is subsequently resolve like four pages after that.
Appropriateness: Clean as a whistle.  Okay, so there is some violence involving paranormal creatures.  And the word “bleep” is used to replace any sort of expletive.  But I think in comparison to a lot of stuff out there, this book is pretty charming.
Blockbuster Worthy: I stated when I reviewed Paranormalcy  it would be a cute movie.  Click here to see casting picks.
Overall Rating: Seven out of ten stars.  I really enjoyed this one, but not as much as the first one.  I will definitely be picking up Endlessly soon and I’m a big fan of White’s work.
2 thoughts on “Supernaturally: Kiersten White

  1. Yeah, it was really weird I would've given the book an eight ( a solid four stars) but that ending was just so fast. I really want to read Endlessly now too but I need to get through a lot of other titles first unfortunately. I guess the good thing is I can read it whenever I want since it is out now. But I don't see it happening for awhile.

Leave a Reply

