The Runaway Princess: Hester Browne

General Summary: Amy Wilde can’t believe she’s found the man of her dreams.  Imagine to her surprise when he finds out he’s a prince.  Leo is the perfect guy and Amy knows she wants to spend the rest of her life with him.  But she’s not exactly princess material.  Will this keep her and Leo apart?

Review:

I started this book right before my last final and had a hard time putting it down (thank God the final was open note and I basically started the book when study time was over).

This book was simply a breath of fresh air.  Yeah, it was predictable and it was ridiculously fluffy, but I really enjoyed it.

Maybe it’s because I love any book with princesses in it-you can blame Meg Cabot for that one folks.  Also, I was sort of obsessed with the royal wedding a few years back as well.  To be honest, when I was a kid I always imagined myself marrying a prince(I was six years-old, okay).  And reading these books sort of bring me back to that first memory when I told my mom I wanted to be the queen of England when I grew up.

Of course, that didn’t happen.

Though in Amy Wilde’s case it sort of did.  She fell in love with a prince.  A real bonafide prince.  And she wasn’t even prince hunting (and yes, there are some honest bonafide prince hunters out there).

Honestly, I feel like the best thing about this book was Amy and Leo’s relationship.  They are so cute together and they really work as a couple.  I feel like the best part of the book happened during their courtship.

However, once they ended up getting engaged Leo’s role diminished and he was merely mind candy.  I didn’t like this.  It was like he lacked a backbone.  His sister, who is a horrible witch, essentially got what she wanted in the end.  And yeah, I guess it was better for Amy, but I really think that she and Leo could’ve worked things out even if….. okay, I’m going into spoiler territory.  But let’s just say the ending was sort of a bummer.

I think it’s partially because the whole resolution of the plot seemed extremely rushed.  Not only with the Amy and Leo relationship but with the side plot concerning Amy’s sister.

That aside, I really enjoyed the book.  The characters were great and I really did get caught up in the story.  It’s not the deepest book I’ve ever read, but it has a lot going for it.

Best Feature: Grown Up Princess Diaries.  I love books about princesses. The first YA book I ever read was Meg Cabot’s The Princess Diaries and this book is like that book but grown up.  I love Browne’s whole take on royalty.

Worst Feature: The last thirty pages.  Honestly, I didn’t like the way this book wrapped up.  It just seemed so quickly and I felt like some characters got a happier ending than they deserved (cough, Sophia and Kelly, cough).

Appropriateness: This is an adult book, but it’s pretty mild.  There’s some language and some partying, but that’s about it.  Really, it’s a lot calmer than a lot of YA books out there.

Blockbuster Worthy: Yes, this would be a cute movie.  And there’s already sort of a movie that’s like this book.

Amy: I’m not sure if I can picture a celebrity who just is Amy to me.  Okay, maybe Kate Middleton but that’s only because she’s also married to a prince.   She and Amy look  nothing alike.

Leo: Eddie Redmayne because I can.

Overall Rating: Eight out of ten crowns.  I really loved this book, but there were a few faults.  If Leo would’ve had a more prominent role as the book progressed and the last thirty or so pages would’ve been a little different, it could’ve easily gotten a ten.

2 thoughts on “The Runaway Princess: Hester Browne

  1. It might be that or something else, I'm not going to spoil the book for you. But I think the big thing for me was things were resolved way too fast.I like the Prince and Me too, but it does have its faults. I will say this book reminds me of that movie a lot. But it's a much more sophisticated version of it, if that makes sense.Overall, I really did enjoy this one though and I do recommend it.

Leave a Reply

