New Year’s Resolution: When Reading YA

So, last year my New Year’s Resolution was to blog more and I achieved that (thankfully).  So, this year in addition to my own private resolutions which I will not be sharing, I decided to make some reading resolutions as well.

And to get you in the festive mood….

10) I will try to read and review a hundred books next year.  Even though I don’t know that possible considering the fact I have to get through another semester of law school, MPRE, and the bar exam.  And, oh yeah, find a job.  So this one might be sort of difficult to achieve, but we’ll see.

9) I will try to read all my Netgalley ARCs.

8) I will utilize the library more.

7) I will give series that I hate a second chance because who knows maybe the sequel is actually better. Then again maybe I should be more stringent about this one.  After all, wasting money on a second book that you don’t like is sort of stupid.  So maybe, this one will apply only to books I find at the library (see resolution number eight).

6) I will try to read what’s actually in my bookshelf more and actually read what I check out at the library.

5) I will try to read at least two-thirds of a book before giving up on it.  Though once again, why should I waste my time on a book that I can not stand.  It puts me in a bad mood and I’m not a nice person when I’m in a bad mood.  Rethink number five.

4)  I will try to be more positive about YA tropes or at least try to be less snarky about them (is that even possible?).  And honestly, is reading fun without the snark?

3) I will try to limit myself to one lemon read a month.  What is a lemon read-you ask?  It’s like a use car that might look perfect on the outside but in reality is shit. Like the Halo series by Alexandra Adornetto.   That series is shitty beyond belief, despite the fact that most of the covers are gorgeous and state that Adornetto is some literary prodigy (prodigy, my ass).

2) I will try to read outside my comfort zone.  I always claim that I can’t find anything “different” in the world of YA.  Maybe it’s me.  I tend shy away from dystopias and other big trends in YA, so maybe I should try to embrace them instead of shunning them. Yes, a good chunk of them might be cliche and horrible but I should still give them a chance, right?

1) I will try to be frugal and not buy a book because a) the cover is stunning, b) the plot looks interesting, or c) there’s been lots of hype for the book.  I will read more reviews and make smarter decisions in what ends up permanently on my bookshelf.

3 thoughts on “New Year’s Resolution: When Reading YA

  1. Great Resolutions, though you give books a lot more of a chance than I do. I usually go for the fifty pages or three chapters approach. I give a little more when It's an author I already know and love. Also, I didn't know Lemon had that definition now. Back in my days lemon meant a fanfiction with strong sexual content and basically no plot.

  2. Pingback: Reflection on 2013 and Its Reading Goals | Howdy YAL!

Leave a Reply

