Perfect Scoundrels: Ally Carter

Is that Hale I see in her glasses?  Hmm, he doesn’t look like a young George Clooney/Christian Bale.  That is so wrong.
I think one of the reasons I like Ally Carter books so much is that they’re a breath of fresh air in comparison to the buckets full of paranormal and dystopia lit that’s out in the YA market right now.  That and there’s no insta love.  However, up into this installment I wasn’t a huge hand of her Heist Society books as I am of the Gallagher Girls series (which I’m a little annoyed at at the moment because by the time the next book is released, I’m a little blurry on what’s going on).  However, this particular installment of Heist Society went beyond my expectations.

General Summary: Kat’s boytoy inherits his grandma’s fortune.  That should be a good thing, right?  Well, the will was forged and things are more sinister than they seem.

Review:

This was better than I expected it to be.  And that my friends is always good.  Or is it?

I mean, maybe I shouldn’t have had such low expectations when it came to this series, but I did which is weird because it’s Ally freaking Carter.

I was pleasantly surprised though and I actually sort of enjoyed this book more than I did the last Gallagher Girl book.  I think because the book is different than a lot of stuff out there in the genre these days.  Oh, sure there are spy/thief books everywhere in YA (in fact, I’m reading one now).  And God knows there are tons of spy/thief shows out there that I watch ( That’s what most of the scripted program I watch consist of spy and thief shows, and detective shows too.  Oh, and General Hospital.  How could I forget General Hospital?  They’re having this freaky plot line right now where Detective John McBain has this lookalike who’s a vampire that reminds me of Meg Cabot’s Insatiable and I digress…).  And grant it, this wasn’t the most original spy/thief story I’ve ever read, but it worked.  And for that matter, it was different in the YA genre because it’s plot involved corporate espionage.  And fraudulent wills which actually helped me with my Wills homework oddly enough (unlike some YA books).

And while I pretty much figured out the twist to the whole mystery plot before the big reveal, I have to admit it was fun to read.  And I really felt like I grew to like the characters in this installment a lot better.

That was probably my biggest problem with this series until up to now.  The lack of character development.  Don’t get me wrong, I still prefer Cammie from Gallagher Girls over Kat any day of the week.  But Kat has grown on me.  And Hale he’s pretty awesome too.  In fact, I’d say I might like him better than Zach, he’s definitely better than Josh (but then again, who isn’t).

I also liked the fact that this book primarily took place in New York.  While I liked the globe trotting that went on in previous installments, it was nice to see the characters quasi grounded and in their “home” environment.

Best Feature: Leverage: Reading one of these books always makes me feel like I’m watching a TV show (a.k.a. Leverage or White Collar).  Grant it, the shows are better than the book, but Carter has improved.  I enjoyed this installment a lot more than it’s predecessor.  It actually felt more like one of those TV shows and while that’s normally not a good thing it works here. A lot better than it did in Uncommon Criminals. 

Worst Feature: Obvious Plot.  The mystery is lame here, guys.  It’s basically told to us right away who’s behind all of this hanky panky, but the motives and everything it just seems cliche.  And so was the suspect, both suspects.  I mean, really I thought this one character could have a potential future in the series.  Guess they won’t considering they’re doing ten to twenty behind bars.  Though who knows, maybe they’ll pull a Neil Caffery or whatever.

Appropriateness: Pretty clean.  There is some violence.  And while the romance is steamy, we never get past first base level.

Blockbuster Worthy: I already said yes and have cast the main roles.  Honestly, I probably should recast but whatever.

Overall Rating: Eight out of ten corporate credit cards.  I liked this one a lot.  It wasn’t perfect, but it was a definite improvement on the last one in the series and I really enjoyed it.

2 thoughts on “Perfect Scoundrels: Ally Carter

  1. Kat is still sort of grating here. I think what saved this one was the development on Hale's character and the fact that there was actually some development concerning Kat, or at least her family. Oh, and you get to find out Hale's first name and that's sort of amusing here.I get why you stopped reading this series though, I was really tempted to myself and even though this one was an improvement I could see a fourth book going either way.

Leave a Reply

