My Life Undecided: Jessica Brody

Really, the art department couldn’t try a little harder with this one?

General Summary: After making making a few (okay, a lot) of bad decisions, Brooklyn decides to hand her life over to the internet.  And that’s pretty much it.

Jessica Brody always has the best book trailers.

Review:

If there is one word to describe this book it’s generic.  I could basically tell you what was going to happen once I reached page fifty where the plot and characters were clearly established.  And being generic is not a bad thing.  It totally worked for Brody’s 52 Reasons to Hate my Father which I loved, but it didn’t work so much here.

I guess one of the reasons is the character Brooklyn.  She’s as stupid as they get, guys.  I really don’t like her and I didn’t grow to like her like I did with Lexi.  She makes horrible decisions and turns to the internet to make her life choices for her.  Yeah….

And I knew that was the point of the novel, but I thought that maybe as the novel would progress the character would develop more.  There were even cliche opportunities for development that weren’t used to their fullest.

I feel like that was one of the biggest problems with this story that we only touched the surface.  Maybe if some of these issues were dug into deeper it could’ve made this otherwise cliche book a little less of a cliche.

I feel like this review section is really short in comparison to some of my other reviews, but there’s really not a lot to say.  The whole book is just contrived and while the characters were fairly flat and dumb there’s not much to say about them either.  This book is just unremarkable.  It’s not bad, but it’s not really good either.

Best Feature: Easy read.  If I would’ve read this one straight through I could’ve gotten through with it within hours.  And it is good mindless reading which is sort of what I need right now-trust me, when you’re making coconut praline smoothies all day and other things that temporary disable fifty-six year old men order you around to do- this is the sort of book you want to read.  If you have to get say someone’s pain killers, you’re not going to be upset to put the book down for a minute and you can get started again pretty easy.

Worst Feature: A rip off before the book it ripped off of got published.  Does anyone remember that movie Gordy?  No, you probably don’t.  Most people don’t.  But most people remember the movie, Babe.  You know, the film with the little sheep pig that could.  Well, Gordy is a lot like Babe except it was less successful.  You’d think it would be feeding off of Babe’s success, but in reality the movie was produced before the sheep pig ever came into existence.  That’s sort of how I feel with this book.  After My Life Undecided, Brody published 52 Reasons to Hate my Father which is eerily similar to this book (annoying girl  life choices gets handed to someone else and she’s transformed).  Grant it, there are some differences between the books and I actually enjoyed and remembered 52 Reasons to Hate my Father.  In other words, it’s just like Babe  and Gordy.

Appropriateness: This book is pretty clean for the most part.  It skirts around some sensitive issues, but it never really reaches the meat of them.  And the kissing/language is pretty P.G. too.

Blockbuster Worthy: Why not?  Disney movie of the week for sure though.  It’s not terrible and it definitely has it’s moments, but like the book if it was a movie I’m sure it would be forgettable.

Brooklyn: Shaliene Woodley.  She’s probably too high caliber for this, but I kept seeing her face when I read this for Brooklyn.  So there you go.

Brian: Greg Sulkin, I guess.  Really, I just tried to think of a Disney Channel star who wasn’t a Jonas Brother.

Overall Rating: Five out of ten internet polls.  This one wasn’t terrible but it was very average.  There really wasn’t anything special about it.  I feel like in a couple of weeks I’ll probably forget about it.

2 thoughts on “My Life Undecided: Jessica Brody

  1. Now I want to see Babe for some reason.And well, I'm sorry this book didn't turn out to be better. I really liked 52 Reasons, yeah it was a cliche story but there were moments were Lexi was very human and I liked her (hard not to like a good dog owner) but it sounds like the girl in this book never gets there. Now I'm really going to look up babe.

  2. Ha! I actually love Babe probably because it heavily features Border Collies and I love Border Collies. Gordy though just seems bizarre.Yeah, Brooklyn is no Lexi. I actually felt like you got to see Lexi grow, Brooklyn not so much. The good news, I guess if any, is that this one was published prior to 52 Things and so things obviously have improved.

Leave a Reply

