Someday My Prince Will Come: Disney Princes Pick Out Your Next Read

So, Disney princes.  Raise your hand if you’ve ever had a crush on one…

I thought so.  I thought it was only fitting that since animated guys were probably one of the first fictional guy crushes that many people have it would be only fitting to use these characters to help decide what YA book you should choose based on your favorite Disney prince.   Note, some of the newer princes-notably, Flynn and Naveen- are excluded from this list because I haven’t seen their respective movies (I’m an idiot, I know.  But hey, I’m a law student.  I hardly ever go out to the movies).

So without further ado it’s time to for Disney Prince/YA book mash up.

1) Aladdin: I really like Aladdin.  Probably because he is a diamond in the rough.  Though I wouldn’t put him in this spot if Dimitri from Anastasia was a Disney prince.  These guys are pretty similar though, but I give prefer Dimitri to Aladdin mainly because of his choice in fashion.  God, what is it with that stupid purple vest.  Thank God, there’s a makeover scene in the movie.  Okay, fashion choices aside I love how gray of a character Aladdin is.  He’s even somewhat snarky for a Disney prince.  So, props there.

YA Comparisons:

Daemon Black (Lux series by Jennifer L Armentrout): Daemon Black acts a lot like Aladdin.  He’s a big flirt, he’s always trying to avoid governmental agencies that are slightly corrupt, he lies to his girlfriend to the point she gets annoyed with him, but he’s still hot.  However, I don’t think there’s a purple vest there and that’s probably a good thing.

Kingsley Martin (Blue Bloods by Melissa de la Cruz): Kingsley is a bit of a bad boy in a good way, like Aladdin.  But with fashion sense (yes, I know I keep mentioning that purple vest, but really Disney what were you thinking).  Plus, thinking of Aladdin and thinking of Kingsley makes me wonder what Kingsley would wish for.  I’m thinking he’d probably manage to outwit the whole three wishes rule.  So, maybe he has one up on Aladdin.

Cole (Everneath by Brodi Ashton): Okay, so he should be on a villian list.  But this character has some great one liners.  And God knows, he is a good con man.  If the other guy in this quasi triangle wasn’t so perfect I might really want him and Nikki to be together.  Plus, he has a sad backstory like Aladdin too.  But no purple vest.  So there you go.

2)  Prince Phillip: Prince Phillip, what do I say but he’s probably the hottest out of Disney insta love guys.  That and he’s actually the most developed too.  Though not through dialogue which is a shame.  He’s awesome in the action sequences though.  And really if he had a bit more development, maybe he could give Eric a run for his money.  In all honesty though, I think Phillip emphasizes why some people find insta love so…so awe worthy.  He’s hot and cute and does brave things that it makes you almost forgive the fact he feel in love with a girl just because she was pretty and the animals liked her.

 

YA Comparisons:

Edward Cullen (The Twilight Saga by Stephenie Meyer): You know there are actual Youtube videos that feature a montage of Bella and Edward to the “Beauty and the Beast” (trust me, I was unfortunate enough to come across one when I was looking for Phoebe and Cole montages).  However, I think they’re relationship is much more like the one in Sleeping Beauty than Beauty and the Beast.  Considering the fact that they declare their undying devotion for each other before their first date and Edward tends to have to rescue Bella every other second.  You know even though he’s animated, I still think Prince Phillip is hotter than Edward.  Plus, I think his relationship with Aurora is more developed.  At least they sing together.  What do Bella and Edward do, stare?

Xavier Woods (Halo Trilogy by Alexandra Adornetto): You probably knew this one was coming whenever I think of insta love I think of Huggie Bear.  And you know what, if you like insta love Halo might be your thing.  The character development is very little to none, the romance is over the top.  But it does sort of read like an old Disney movie.  Of course, I think Prince Phillip is a lot more tolerable than Huggle Wuggles will ever be.  But I think that’s what Adornetto was striving for, a Disney character.  Because let’s face it most of our ideals of love come form Disney (at least if your parents raised you on a G filled animated film diet growing up).

Alec (Fateful by Claudia Gray): Alec is deliciously cliche.  Honestly, I feel like relationships on the Titanic are like the new Disney princes.  Do you know not only one but two animated movie versions of the Titanic were made after the James Cameron productions.  Both of them crappy on various levels-one even sequel that involves Atlantis, don’t ask.  I sort of see this book like those movies, but less cringe worthy.  The hero, Alec, equates to Prince Phillip in the fact that he falls in love with this girl with very little push or care and then the whole book is about her being a damsel on distress on a boat headed for doomed.  Unlike Twilight or Halo though, there’s an odd place for this one in my heart.  I think maybe because I enjoy its cheese and it doesn’t take itself that seriously. However, Prince Phillip is still hotter than Alec.

3) The Beast: The Beast is where I think we book girls get our love for bad boys.  I don’t know about you, but I always identified with Belle when it came to Disney princesses.  Maybe because I’m sort of like her when it comes to books and I would love to have a montage whenever I walked to town.  Of course, my name really wouldn’t translate well into song but…digressing.  While I might identify with Belle the most, the Beast is another story.  I really did not like this character at first.  He reminds me of all those cruddy YA protagonist.  Of course, when I was four that really didn’t seem to matter much.  More or less the character scared me.  But with age and the broadway show (where the prince looked way better than the drawing) he grew on me.  I think what makes this guy one to salivate over is that he really did  repent.  Unlike, so many….well, you’ll see when I list them.

YA Comparisons:

John (from Meg Cabot’s Abandon): Cabot I’m pretty sure loves Beauty and the Beast or I know that Mia loved Beauty and the Beast since she was always going on about it in those diary entries of hers.  It’s not surprising that one of her series could be comparable to the film.  I sort of see Abandon as that series.  Actually, I wonder if the whole Persephone tale could be some how connected to the origins of the fairytale, but that’s not what this blog entry is about.  I chose this book because I think John is a redeemable bad boy much like The Beast is.  God, did he frustrate and infuriate me in the first book but he really is mellowing out much like the beast.

Jace (from Cassandra Clare’s The Mortal Instruments): Okay, so this one hasn’t mellowed out exactly.  But Jace Whatever He’s Going By does remind me a lot of the Beast.  He’s moody, lashes out, probably breaks his toys too.  And yeah, I know he’s really more like Draco Malfoy than the Beast.  But this is about Disney characters.  And I can honestly see people who like the Beast liking Jace.  He can be a pretty scary character and he has made a few dumb choices in his life.

Tucker Avery (Unearthly Trilogy by Cynthia Hand): No, he’s not a monster.  But Clara and Tucker’s relationship is a lot like the Beast and Belle’s.  They don’t really like each other at first and Tucker is outright rude to her.  Grant it, he’s not a quote, quote bad boy.  But I think their relationship develops similarly enough to the characters in the movie where you get that Beauty and the Beast vibe.

4) Shang: Shang is hot mainly because he doesn’t wear a shirt  for  good chunk  of the movie. Unlike Aladdin, he doesn’t even lamely try to cover it up with some stupid purple vest (thank God).  My one issue with him is  I don’t know how he didn’t realize Mulan wasn’t a girl.  Couldn’t he…anyway.  I think that might’ve been the hottest thing about Mulan and Shang’s relationship was that it didn’t start as insta love-he thought she was a guy.  And then when he found out the truth he shunned her away for awhile instead of instantly forgiving her.

YA Comparisons:

Dimitri (from Richelle Mead’s Vampire Academy): Dimitri and Rose sort of have a Mulan/Shang relationship.  He’s her teacher.  But obviously, Dimitri notices that Rose is a girl.  Maybe, a little too much.  It’s sort of disturbing given the fact he’s about seven or so years older than her.  And what’s even more disturbing is that it’s sort of hot.

Adam (from Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi): Okay, he’s a hot solider.  Grant it, he’s not sent to train whiney Juliette but he sort of does in a weird way.  And I can totally see him-at least in my mind going around shirtless like Shang.  Though I wonder how he’d sing.  Yeah, maybe he needs to work on that.

Matthew (from Samantha and the Cowboy by Lorraine Heath): You probably have never heard of this book.  And I’m sort of embarrassed that I read it.  Okay, I’m not really embarrassed that I read it because it’s just like Mulan but takes place in the Old West.  See, Samantha’s dad died  and she has to support her family so she cuts off all her hair and…sounds familiar?  Except Matthew is a hot cowboy not a solider and Samantha really never gets into the cowgirl thing-that’s okay she and Matthew still get together anyway.  It’s one of those books you want to read, but you don’t want to admit you own.  And fans of Mulan should love it if they dare to read it.

5) Eric: Eric’s probably my favorite Disney prince because of those eyes of his.  It also helps that there’s actual character development there as well-so he’s not just another pretty face like  Prince Phillip.  It’s true he instantly falls in love with a voice (one of the lamest plots, though it’s sort of understandable since said voice saved him and all), but when he meets the actual Ariel they have to work at what they have.  And besides that, he kind of learns the lesson that insta love isn’t all it seems when he fell in love with a sea witch because she had Ariel’s stolen voice.  Then again, that lesson is sort of ruined when he finds out that it’s Ariel and she gets her voice back and…stop analyzing.

YA Comparisons:

Jack Force (from Melissa de la Cruz’s Blue Bloods): Jack really is like the Prince Eric of Melissa de la Cruz’s Blue Bloods series.  He’s the swoon worthy guy you want to have who occasionally does make a boneheaded move but makes amends.  And I admit a lot of my lust for Jack is shallow, much like my lust is for Eric.  Plus, he sort of owns a castle (well, a penthouse and a Jaguar).  Oh, and he has a penchant for homeless girls  too since Schuyler is described in the earlier books as sort of dressing like how Ariel dressed when Eric saw her on the beach.

Erik Night (from PC and Kristin Casts’s House of Night): I feel bad about doing this since I love Prince Eric, but Erik Night is an obvious fan fiction version of Prince Eric if I’ve ever seen one.  Once again, I really don’t recommend this one if you need a Prince Eric fit.  But it was too funny to resist.

Jesse de Silva (from Meg Cabot’s The Mediator): Jesse is so Prince Eric worthy it’s not even funny.  It’s true he’s not a prince, he used to be a rich rancher though before he died.  And if you think about his death it was kind of similar to the problems Prince Eric had.  Perfectly nice guy makes some bad decisions regarding women, only Jesse turned up dead not married to a sea witch.  And Suze is spunky like Ariel too.

4 thoughts on “Someday My Prince Will Come: Disney Princes Pick Out Your Next Read

  1. This is awesome. I would have put Henry from The Goddess Test as a Beast analogy as well but you know, you can't include everyone.Also, Shang is so much cooler than just a hot guy with no shirt. He's a BAMF and a military leader. He's often overlooked but he's awesome. But Donny Osmond sucks as his singing voice.More posts like this please!

  2. Thanks for posting. I freaking love Shang. He was the best part of Mulan, though I love Mulan too. Got to love a Disney princess that actually does something besides singing about wanting more.I'm actually hoping to do a similar post soon correlating Superheroes to YA heros/heroines.

  3. I LOVE THIS!I'm totally with you on the Purple Vest GateI love the guys you mentioned! 😀 And yup, Eric is probably my favorite too, even above Adam/Beast, just by a small edge. Oh and I should totes read Sarah and the Outlaw, I do like Lorraine Heath's books sometimes 😀

  4. Thanks. And so glad you agree with me about purple vest gate. Horrible, horrible choice in animation fashion :). Yeah, Eric ranks above Beast for me in part because I didn't think the animation for Adam was that great (I really thought he'd be hotter than he was. Fortunately, the broadway production sort of fixed that for me).

Leave a Reply

