The Goddess Inheritance: Aimee Carter

So, you want to see how Kim  Kardashian is going to be as a mother?  Well, read The Goddess Inheritance.  Actually, Kim will probably be a better mother than Kate she’ll at least hire a nanny and won’t, you know, abandon her baby to stay with her evil kidnappers throughout most of….you know what, let’s talk about the book.

General Summary: It’s the third goddess book (any yays?)  Well, that was one cliffie at the end of the last installment (you know, with Kate being knocked up).  So yeah, it’s a new goddess book and Kate’s going to have to do with the things that all new mothers deal with: early morning feedings, breast feeding, changing diapers, getting back into her pre-pregnancy jeans, and saving the world.  Actually, only one of those things happens (and yeah, it’s the saving the world one).  The baby, is merely like Henry, a man-cessory except in baby form.

Review:

I was not enthralled this piece of shit at all.

Yeah, I’m calling it what it is.  A piece of shit.

Okay, piece of shit might be a little too harsh.  To be honest this book reminded me a lot like one of those direct to video Disney sequels.  Specifically Aladdin and the King of Thieves.  You know the third Aladdin movie (oh yeah, there’s three Aladdin movies and a sequel-how’s that for a whole new world).  For all of those of you who are Disney inept, I’ll explain.  You’ve probably seen advertisements for Disney sequels.  Most of them our downright horrible and our only made for  television babysitting purposes.  Aladdin was the first Disney movie to get its direct to video sequel in, The Return of Jafar and boy was it a piece of shit.  A piece of shit that got it’s own sequel which was awful it’s own right, but was just a tad bit better than well…The Return of Jafar.  That’s sort of what The Goddess Inheritance was like.  Awful its own regard, but when compared to that second book in the series it wasn’t well that bad.

So what was so bad about this one?  All I have to say is Kim Kardashian is going to be a better mother than Kate.  That should give you some insight right there.

Let’s talk about my stanch on pregnancy in YA.  I don’t hate it….if it’s portrayed realistically.  Which means I more often than not hate it.  I feel like the pregnancies you see in these books are glamorized to the point where some of the more gullible readers (and I hate to say after watching 16 and Pregnant and reading some family law cases they do) will think that getting knocked up at sixteen is going to be some sort of fairytale.  It’s not.  Your not instantly going to be able to fit into your pre-pregnancy jeans or bras like Kate does.  You’re not going to instantly want to have sex again like Kate does.  You’re not going to have a perfect little baby like Kate does that acts like a doll that only needs love.

Only needs love.

Look having a kid is expensive.  And as much as the movies want to tell you, you need more than love to raise a kid.  You not only have to feed and clothe your child, you have to pay for its schooling, its medical care, its entertainment.  It’s not cheap.

But oh little Milo-whose name Kate randomly decides on without even consulting her husband to see if he likes it (great coparenting there Kate) only needs love not his mother’s milk which is why I guess he’s okay after being kidnapped for so long. Not that it would matter much to Kate since she’d rather have her kid die than risk the rest of the world’s death.

Altruistic yes.  But do you think most mother’s would react that way?

What I’m saying is the motherhood bits are completely unrealistic.

And I’m sad to say that’s how all other characterization was handled in this installment.  Henry is a man-cessory per usual whose only role is to be  pretty  handsome enough for all the girls to lust after-including the villain who according to the source material would want nothing to do with Kate’s Henry bag.  Though I guess, it’s okay since most of the guys save for a few are lusting over Kate and her instantly hot postpartum body too (hello, Mary Sue).

Honestly, I think a lot of the characterization problems were from a lack of research.  I think Carter only did minimum research for these books because lots of things about the gods that you could find reading Wikipedia weren’t even addressed.  It just didn’t make sense.  Much like the plot which seemed to be illy paced.  Remember how nothing, nothing happened in the last one?  Well, tons of shit happened in this one but it past so awful that you’ d have just long periods of moping.  And the resolution…well, it was a dumb as the rest.

And you know what the sad thing is, there’s potential according to what it says at the end of this book for even more sequels.  Are we turning into Cassandra Clare here?

Best Feature: It’s over (hopefully).  At least Carter knew when to pull her series, I think.  Because at the end it says the Goddess  test has ended for now which has me wondering and shuddering.  Please, Carter don’t do it.

Worst Feature: Ugh, I don’t know.  I really don’t know.  Lots of things bothered me about this one.  I think I’ll go with the obvious though.  Anti-feminist culture.  Throughout the book the slut slamming and Kate’s actions just ring of slut slamming.  I really, really hated it.  I also hated how Kate needed a man to be complete and instead of being an active partner Henry was little more than a Ken doll.

Appropriateness:  Um, no.  I don’t think so.  It glorifies teen marriage and pregnancy with very little consequences.  Heck, the man-cessory and Kate hardly have an argument.  It’s like Barbie and Ken living together, scratch that since Barbie and Ken actually got a divorce at one point.The language is fairly mild, but there is sex here and some battle scenes as well.

Blockbuster Worthy: This is actually one of those books I could see turned into a movie.  It would probably get a cruddy release date and only do mildly well at the box office.  But whatever.  It wouldn’t be expected to do much.  Here’s who I’d cast.

Overall Rating: Three out of ten togas. I think I gave the last one a higher rating than this, but to be honest I probably should’ve given that one a lower rating than I did (what do I say, I was a young generous and naive reviewer back then).  While this book was a slight improvement it was still a wretched fest of anti-feminism.  Let’s hope the real Hera doesn’t get her hands on it or she might smite someone.

4 thoughts on “The Goddess Inheritance: Aimee Carter

  1. Yikes. I read this first one and kind of liked it, but I couldn't muster up enough interest to read the second..Mainly cause I have better things to do and read. But I HATE pregnancy in YA unless, like you, it is done in a very real drop-out-of-school-father-ditches-you kind of way. Babies are not romantic. They are hard work. Good review.

  2. Yeah, the first book was fairly decent. Kate had potential, but it just took a turn for the worse. I really don't know why they can't make teen pregnancy or teen marriage realistic if they have to include it. I wouldn't mind if the characters were happy, but they never ever show that there's going to be struggles in these types of situations and that's just wrong.

  3. I've been reading through your blog and found it hilarious. I feel like this book calls for a drinking game as well. I actually rather liked the first book, but after that, everything just went straight down the toilet.

  4. Thanks I'm glad you enjoyed it. Drinking game for this series…I never thought about it. Though I could easily see how you could get drunk with this trilogy. I am planning on posting something Goddess Test related soon on the blog (A Whatever Happened To Entry).

Leave a Reply

