The Goodreads Killer: Dave Franklin

Today, was sort of a wash for me work wise since the air conditioner man was here and all I could really do was sit in the living room while I waited for him to install the new unit-he’s still not done. Oh, and it was my sister’s birthday, so I did wrap some gifts.

When I heard about a supposed novella about the issues that are going on at GoodReads-basically little special snowflakes getting their feelings hurt and freaking out and telling anyone who doesn’t praise their book for being all bunny rabbits and roses is a bully.

Yes, there are writers that can’t accept criticism and have obviously never been in a real life workshop class.

So, when I saw this on my newsfeed and found out it was free and short I read it because-hey, I had nothing better to do than play Ruzzle after I wrapped five birthday presents.

I thought this book might be a nice parody, but it wasn’t.  I don’ t know what Franklin was trying to do.

True, there were elements of satire throughout the book.  But at the end of the day, it seemed to be pretty bias in favor of the special snowflakes.

Rolls eyes.

Honestly, for this type of book I wanted neither party vilified.  Even though I’m undoubtedly bias on the issue, I think if you’re going to write about it you shouldn’t portray one side way worse than the other side.  And for that matter, the characters that Franklin created are just downright unlikable.  I actually did feel for the victim, who Franklin tried to vilify.

I mean, all he did was write a bad review.  And I don’t care if it’s going to be on the internet like Franklin said forever.  It’s just a review.  It’s not an excuse to commit homicide or a viable defense according to any criminal law course I took.

But wait, homicide is the cure for writers block.  So that makes it okay.

The whole kill the reviewers gang was sort of lame. Other than the author, there was just this one guy who told him about the group and then this Mary Sue who the author character screws throughout the book.  Honestly, in parts of the book it qualified more as bad erotica than parody.  Seriously, there’s a horrible written sex scene that involves the special snowflake reading the Mary Sue scenes from his stupid book.

I love satire.  I think if written correctly it has social relevance and can add other dimensions on issues.  Some of my favorite movies, for example, are satires.  Mel Brooks has some pretty amazing satires out there, but this book to equate it properly is sort of like the Scary Movie franchise stupid and pointless.

And then the ending was just downright ominous.  To be honest, I didn’t know what to think about it.  I’m pretty sure this was supposed to be satire but at the end I did get a little creeped out especially with how little consequences the author had to deal with for slaying a reviewer.  Heck, he got to keep on boinking his Mary Sue Screw.

Books often have hidden meanings, satires especially.  And with hot button issue ending on a dark note like this, I really have to wonder especially given the outright bias throughout the parody.

Overall I’m a little dumbfounded by this one.  I personally didn’t like it and while I believe it was spoof, there’s a part of me that questions that.  It’s free so if you’re interested you might want to check it out.  But I’m just glad, my house is fully equipped with Brinks Home Security.

Leave a Reply

