Top Ten Couples that Make Me Say GTFO

10) Nikki and Jack (The Everneath trilogy by Brodi Ashton):

Boring.

Boring.

Boring.

To be honest, I really never shipped much in this series.  But man, Nikki and Jack’s shmoopy talk really annoyed me in the last book.  It also didn’t help that there was total character assassination to get them together.

Character assassination, my friends, is just lame.

9) Miss Martian and Lagoon Boy ( The Cartoon Network’s Young Justice):

I feel bad for Lagoon Boy.  It was pretty obvious he was only inserted into Young Justice to cause tension between Miss Martian and Superboy.  Plus, the writers wanted introduce a lot less known DC characters even if it cost the rest of the characters development.  This, ultimately, was one of the reasons why the show was cancelled way before it’s time.

Cursing over being paired with character who was obviously going to end up with another. Unless of course, Lois Lane has a clone too then Miss M is toast or if we followed comic cannon Wonder Girl would’ve worked too.

What bothers me about this relationship, despite the fact it’s obviously forced, is that Lagoon Boy is so annoying.

Watching him talk is like reading those mermaid novels by Tera Lynn Childs with a very annoying narrator.

Not a good thing.

8) Ron and Hermione (Harry Potter by JK Rowling):

I’ll never understand this ship, just like I’m sure plenty of Rione fans will never get my love for Harmony.

Ron and Hermione just seems like a nightmare in the making for me.  I mean, you have the laziest guy in Hogwarts get together with the brainiest girl.  Instant, disaster.

Yeah, really, you.

Plus, given Ron’s treatment towards Hermione in the sixth book, if girl had a backbone she would’ve got over him and gotten into Harry’s pants.

Okay, I know she does have a backbone.  But everything about Hermione’s character seems hidden whenever she’s around Ron.  It’s just like she can’t be her true self, and that to me is what makes the relationship so horrid.

7) Bethany Church and Xavier Woods (Halo Trilogy by Alexandra Adornetto):

This couple just makes me want to give them the stink eye.

I hate to say this, but the relationship between these two characters more than anything else shows just how young Adornetto is.  I’m not saying that a teen isn’t capable of writing to a deep and complicated love story, but Adornetto certainly doesn’t.  What bothers me the most about this relationship, is that the characters are never held accountable for their actions.  Bethany killed a fucking priest.  Seriously, how can there not be consequences for that?

6) Anthem and Gavin (The Brokenhearted by Amelia Kahaney):

This is probably one of the worst written relationships in YA that it’s laughable.

I won’t spoil the book for you, but you sort of figure everything out by just watching these two out.

It’s just so fake and I really can’t see anyone wanting to become a wannabe Batman for this guy.

Well, okay, I take that back.  Anthem is an idiot.  I think what I hated about this one the most is how stupid it expects its audience to be.  Because that’s what you have to be in order to take this couple seriously.

5) Amy and Teddy (Little Women):

Really?

Really?

All that build up for Joe and Teddy and this is what the end game is.

To be fair, I probably could’ve handled it better if I didn’t see the film version first and watch Teddy interact with young Amy.  The age difference just really bothers me, even though it was common placed during the period. But the fact that a large portion of the story happens when Amy is younger is just wrong.  And imagining Batman with Mary Jane is so wrong on so many levels.

4) Travis and Abbey (Beautiful Disaster  by Jamie McGuire):

Ha! Ha! Ha!

I really start laughing whenever I hear someone discuss how romantic this pair is.

I’m sorry.  You’re all entitled to your own opinion, but I don’t see how anyone can view this relationship as being healthy then….well, that’s very ah interesting.

I think what bothers me about Tabby is that it glamorizes abuse.  Travis is an  abuser there’ s no doubt about it, and Abby never seems to grow a back bone.

Honestly, I find this relationship to be just sad.

3) Juliette and anyone (Shatter Me Series by Tehereh Mafi):

Please.

Just please.

This girl and her relationships just have me groaning.

In corner one, you have Adam who’s blander than any early Disney prince could ever hope to be.

In the other corner.  Well, you have the Joker minus the acid incident.

Instead, he looks like a GQ model and that (of course) means he gets a second chance.

Just barf.

2) Bella and Edward (The Twilight Saga by Stephenie Meyer):

They almost didn’t make the list.  But after much thought, I put them on there.  I think because this couple is used as the basis for every single god awful young adult and new adult couple in recent past.

The sad thing is, at the height of the Team Edward versus Team Jacob wars, I was Team Edward.  It wasn’t so much that I thought Bella would be better off with Edward, it just seemed obvious that that was where Meyer was going.  And honestly…Jacob was too good for Bella.  Well, until he became creepy.

1) Romeo and Juliet (Romeo and Juliet by WIlliam Shakespeare):

Probably one of the most famous couples in the Western world, and I hate them.

I think it’s not so much Shakespeare’s writing that bothers me, but the way millions of people interpret this couple.

I don’t interpret the play as being a romantic play.  Sure, there are romantic moments in Romeo and Juliet, but I think at it’s heart the play is a cautionary tale about instant love and impulsiveness, but I think people often overlook that.

Let’s face it, people will always remember this couple as having some amazing love story, but other than an amazing balcony scene what do these two really have?

One thought on “Top Ten Couples that Make Me Say GTFO

  1. Pingback: Why I Hate Adam Wilkins ~ by MonsterChiari | The Write Stuff

Leave a Reply

