The Almost Quarterly Report

It’s almost April which means almost a quarter of the year has gone by.  Which means, its time for me to introduce a new feature: The Almost Quarterly Report.  In which I examine my reading choices.

Amount of books Read: Twenty-Seven according to that GoodReads Challenge app thing.  Actually, I think it’s been really twenty-eight because I didn’t track my reading progress for one of them (whatever, we’ll keep the twenty-seven for prosperity’s sake).

Biggest Surprise: The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski.  This one has been over hyped and then some, so I was expecting to be a bit disappointed.  But amazingly, I enjoyed it just as much as everyone else did.  Am I really changing my black sheep ways?

Worst Overall Book: Oh, by far this goes to Big Fat Disaster by Beth Fehlbaum.  It was the first book I read this year and it really left a HORRIBLE impact on me.  It is so trigger inducing, so insulting on so many levels.  I just try to block it out.  I think what really made this one THE worst was the fact it had all these sensitive issues and where it could’ve taken its time to deal with them delicately it just shitted all over the place.  And I don’t care, but any mother who tells you it’s okay to stick a finger in your mouth and vomit needs to have their parental rights terminated.

Best Debut: Probably Something Real by Heather Demetrios.  I almost gave this one to Cruel Beauty by Rosamund Hodge, but Something Real  is overall a much more solid book.  If you like trashy TLC shows,  Something Real is a great behind the scenes fictional account about how much dysfunction is really behind these shows.

Weirdest Book: See Me by Wendy Higgins.  I almost think Higgins wrote this on a bet that she couldn’t make leprechauns sexy.  Well, she didn’t.  This book falters in a lot of ways where it really shouldn’t.  I get that this was independently published, but still Higgins has a fairly successful series out there-she should know better than naming her hero after a vegetable that is almost as infamous as asparagus. Runner up, goes to Fates by Lanie Bross.  Dear freaking lord, I didn’t even understand the point of that book.

Pretty much sums up this book.

Best Book: I’m going to give it to Cress by Marissa Meyer.  I really loved that book.  It was just what I wanted.  This series just keeps getting better and better.  To be honest, I was a little nervous about this book because Rapunzel (the traditional NOT Disney Rapunzel) is a bit of a drip.  However, Cress well she kicks butt without being ridiculously unrealistic.  Oh, and did I mention that there is just so much swoon in this book.

Most Disappointing Book: Sadly, there were so many in this category and in the end I had to give this one a tie for new books the crown goes to Evertrue by Brodi Ashton.  I just had such high hopes for the finale series and I got a book that read like a sophomore slump.  The other winner would be Second Star by Alyssa B Sheinmel.  This book was supposed to be a Peter Pan retelling.  The only thing Peter Pan about it was  the characters names.

Overall Thoughts: So far, this year has been a mixed bag.  There has been some fantastic stuff, but there has been some shitastic stuff as well.  Hopefully, the next quarter will be stronger (we can only hope).  Here are some of the books that are coming out/or that I’m planning on reviewing in the next reading period.

 

I have really high hopes for this one.  However, I haven’t been a fan of de la Cruz’s past few releases.  I can only hope that this one will be like her early Blue Bloods books or I really think I’m going to her on my library only list.

 

 

Another author’s whose books can go either way.  I’m actually excited about this one, even though it does look like a little bit of a Pretty Little Liars knock out.  Because hello, ballet.

 

 

 

Because after the last book, I know it’s going to be a cluster fuck of a mess and that in itself can be interesting in a sad sort of way.  Plus, I think I might make a drinking game with this book and that’s always fun.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

