Come on and Rub the Book:The Art of Wishing Duo-logy by Lindsay Ribar

Occasionally, I like to review books by the series which is what I’m doing with The Art of Wishing Duology.

About the Series: Think Meg Cabot, genies, with some heavy issues snuck in and you get this duo-logy.  Okay, want to know more. ….fine.

He can grant her wishes, but only she can save his life.

Margo McKenna has a plan for just about everything, from landing the lead in her high school play to getting into a good college. So when she finds herself in possession of a genie’s ring and the chance to make three wishes, she doesn’t know what to do. Why should she put her life into someone else’s hands?

But Oliver is more than just a genie — he’s also a sophomore at Margo’s high school, and he’s on the run from a murderer. As he and Margo grow closer, she discovers that it will take more than three wishes to save him.

A whole lot more.

Source: GoodReads

This book is what I want from a YA book.  It’s cute, fluffy, and actually has substance.  And did I mention it features genies…and I’m in desperate need of a good YA genie book but never seem to get my wish.

Until this book.

In the words of Katy Schwartz, sweet baby Jesus.

This book is cute.  Made of kittens, sunshine, and all things perfect.

Let’s start with the main character.

I actually liked Margo.  Yes, she had some bonehead teenage moments, but I didn’t want to rip her hair off like I did with a lot of YA protagonists.  Oh yeah, she still makes mistakes but she actually felt her age.

I also liked the love interest which I really didn’t think I would.  Oliver is not your stereotypical YA boy and I think that’s what I liked the most about him.  It’s true, the romantic relationship between him and Margo developed a little too fast for my tastes, but Ribar made sure that their insta love sort of had some pitfalls.  So, the development really just worked.

I also loved the plot.

When I first read the summary, I thought it was going to be pure fluff.  However, color me surprise when Ribar added a killer genie in to the mix.  And strangely enough, it worked.  The book would’ve been bland without it.  Well, fluffy but bland.  The killer genie though was pretty awesome.  I liked the twist to the whole freeing the genie plot and it really added dimensions to the second book.

I tried to find faults in the first book, but to be honest I couldn’t find anything that major enough to gripe about.  Just saying that makes me feel all teary eyed.  Because I rarely ever get to say it. And it’s such an awesome feeling when I can’t complain.

I thought for sure  there’d be some complaining with a killer genie coming out in an otherwise fluffy book…

But nope.

Overall Rating: A+

 

 

 

 

Here’s what Margo McKenna knows about genies:

She’s seen Aladdin more times than she can count; she’s made three wishes on a magic ring ; she’s even fallen head over heels in love with Oliver, the cute genie whose life she saved by fighting off his archenemy. But none of this prepared her for the shock of becoming a genie herself.

At a time when she’s trying to figure out who she wants to be, Margo is forced to become whomever her master wants. Everything she’s taken for granted—graduating from high school, going to college, performing in the school musical, even being a girl—is called into question. But she’s also coming into a power she never imagined she’d have.

How will Margo reconcile who she is with what she’s becoming? And where will she and Oliver stand when she’s done?

Source: GoodReads

As for the sequel any other book and I would’ve said success…but this one was sort of a disappointment.

Don’t get me wrong.  The Fourth Wish had a lot going for it.  I liked the look that Ribar took on serious issues-like sexuality, slavery, and free choice.  But compared to the first book. Well, I didn’t get the chemistry between teh two characters.

Yeah, the fluffy kitties were gone.

It’s still a good book.  And even though I wasn’t having a purr worthy moment reading about Margo and Oliver, there were some cute moments.

One thing I did like about this book (and the previous book) was how all the characters-save for Oliver-were teens.  Undeniably teens.  A lot of YA protagonists just don’t act like high school kids.  But Margo, she actually has parents, classes that she’s passionate about, and a social life other than the love of her life.

So, the fact that Ribar kept most of that up in the sequel gets a plus from me.

Probably the best thing about this book was the way it handled such sensitive and deep subjects.  I never felt like Ribar was trying to force anything down my throat.  And I thought all the characters reactions were natural.

That being said, the resolution was a bit abrupt.  And I did feel like there were lots of loose ends to this book.

So, while I liked it I didn’t love it like I did the first one.

Overall Rating: A solid B.

Overall Series Thoughts:

I would recommend this duo-logy even though the second book was a little wishy washy.  If you love cute and fluffy YA books and genies this is your series.  There’s an edge to this series that’s actually surprising and even more surprising really works.  Ribar is an author to watch in the future.

Overall Series Rating: B+

2 thoughts on “Come on and Rub the Book:The Art of Wishing Duo-logy by Lindsay Ribar

  1. Ha, I just came to your blog because I saw on Goodreads you’d disliked a different genie book, and I was thinking “I REALLY HOPE SHE’S READ THIS DUOLOGY BECAUSE OH MAN IF NOT SHE’S GONNA BE SO HAPPY AND I NEED TO MAKE SURE SHE KNOWS IT EXISTS.” Am glad you liked it a lot, at least!

  2. Pingback: Bookish Highlights of the Year: Where I go Over a Year in Books | Howdy YAL!

Leave a Reply

