The TBR Pile: December 2014

So, one of my goals for next year is to become better organized.  Which means, I’m going to be trying to do this TBR List for the month feature.  Also, it will help me review what I have preordered from Amazon so I won’t be like WTF.  What this means is that I’ll list books that are in my TBR pile and try to organize my reading via a blog post so I’ll actually…you know read them:

Own/Ordered/Preordered:

  • The Name of the Blade by Zoe Marriott: Japanese mythology and London.  Sold.
  • The DUFF by Kody Keplinger: The movie trailer seemed very MJ-ish so I’m going to give this one a whirl.
  • Shadows of the Moon by Zoe Marriott: I got this one when I got The Name of the Blade on Black Friday.  It’s a Cinderella retelling.  So, another obvious buy.
  • Stolen Songbird by Danielle Jensen: Trolls.  This one was bought Cyber Monday I think Ammy had a 30% off deal.
  • Suspicion by Alexandra Monir: A preorder that I ordered mainly because the Princess Diaries comparison.  Curses.
  • This Shattered World by Aimee Kaufman and Meagan Spooner: I preordered this one way back in July.  Oh, yeah, am I excited about it too.
  • Princess of Thorns by Stacey Jay: The daughter of Sleeping Beauty and gender building.  Plus, Of Beast and Beauty was one of my favorite books last year.
  • Breaking the Rules by Katy McGarry: My only digital preorder for this month.

Eight books.  So far.  Hopefully, it won’t go up that much further.  It doesn’t help that December has lots of sells and that it’s my birthday and I go Christmas shopping and always have to go to a book store and….yeah.  On the plus side, most of the ones I’ve gotten have been through deals.

ARCs/Won:

  • Top Ten Clues You’re Clueless by Liz Czukas: It’s compared to The Breakfast Club.  YA comparisons to John Hughes movies excite me.  I won this one through a contest ran by the blog Book Chic
  • Forbidden by Kimberley Griffiths Little: Ancient Mesopotamia.  That’s the real reason I’m excited about this one.  The Cradle of Civilization really doesn’t get the attention it deserves. I won this one through the blog Book Chic.
  • Captive by Aimee Carter: I really liked Pawn  and thought it was one of the most underrated books in 2013, so I’m looking forward to this one.  Received an ARC via Netgalley.

These are the three books I have currently slated to read and review in this category.  I’m admittedly sort of backlogged on my Netgalley titles, so I’ll be probably reading a lot of back list titles as well.

 

Library:

  • Stray by Elissa Sussman: I’ve read some reviews that like this one and some that have just been meh to groan worthy.  I’m giving it a try mainly because I love fairytale retellings and the cover is pretty.
  • Dark Triumph by Robin Lafeevers: I read the first one via Netgalley and wasn’t that impressed, but people keep telling me this series gets better.  We shall see.
  • The Young Elites by Marie Lu: I’ve heard a lot of good things about this one and I’m excited about reading it.
  • Starry Night by Isabel Gillies: This one looks fluffy.  I was really glad it was at the library because based on the summary I think it’s going to be one of those books that can either really work or not work.
  • Atlantia by Ally Condie: While it doesn’t feature mermaids, the summary seems similar to Disney’s The Little Mermaid.
  • As You Wish by Jackson Pearce: Genies.  I used to own this one, though I’m pretty sure it’s in storage right now.
  • Being Audrey Hepburn by Mitchell Kriegman: I’m pretty sure I won’t get to this one, it’s due soon, but I checked it out mainly because Audrey Hepburn.  The funny thing is is that there’s a lot of things involving her right now out in the YA market.
  • Rites of Passage by Joy N Hensley: Military School.  The synopsis sort of reminds me of Cadet Kelly.  However, I hear the book is a lot darker than Cadet Kelly.
  • Lailah  by Nikki Kelly: I don’t even know why I checked this one out.  All the reviews have been sort of horrible.  I’m going to give it the five chapter try though.
  • Kiss Kill Vanish by Jessica Martinez: YA mysteries/detective stories have sort of been hit or miss lately.  This one looks like it could go in the miss category.  Hence, the library check out.
  • Lies We Tell Ourselves by Robin Talley: This one comes highly recommended and I’m pretty sure it’s going to be read.  Soon.
  • The Cure for Dreaming by Cat Winters: Feminism.

As you can see, there’s quite a lot of books here.  I think it’s partially because these are new releases and I sort of stalk the new releases catalogue on my library’s website.  The good news is that my library has six weeks checkouts.  Some of these will probably need to be returned before then though.

Goals:

Obviously, I’m not going to finish all of these.  I do hope that I finish a third to about half of these titles by the end of the month.

9 thoughts on “The TBR Pile: December 2014

      • It’s always useful to have a list of the books you want to read soon; it makes it easier to choose when the list isn’t too big. 😉

      • True. I think I’m probably going to start more or less with the library pile-shocked that they still put all my holds there at once. There are a few that I’m pretty sure I might DNF so I’ll probably start with those first.

      • Yeah, the library books are a great place to start, especially when there are a lot of them and you only have limited time to read them… Good luck! 🙂

      • I agree, unfortunately. I’ve DNF’d two on the library list. And I’ve already canceled one of the preorders based on really bad reviews-I’ll wait till I can get my hands on a library copy for that book. So, the good news I guess is I’m sort of making headway?

      • There is at least a positive side to not liking books and having more time to read the ones you do like! That’s the advantage of library books, at least you didn’t have to spend money on books you DNF later on; something I hate.

Leave a Reply

