The TBR Pile: January Has No Fruitcake

I didn’t quite finish all of the pile last month.  Not that I expected to finish it, but I did hope to get more done than I did.

 

Still though, I did manage to get through I think about eight of the books on the mammoth list though.  So, that was something (I guess).

Here’s what I have in my pile for next month (note I have a TBR shelf that I’m not listing here because it would just be too painful  and annoying for me to list all those books and sort of repetitive after awhile).

Note, until I get a real grasp of this feature the format might change a little bit.

Preordered:

  • Firefall by Bethany Frenette: The Dark Star series is so underrated.  Unfortunately, sales have been low and the last book is only being released via digital format.  Which sucks for multiple reasons.  Now, I have to decide if I should reorder this one via digital or see if there might be a possibility of a paperback release in the future.  Hmmm….
  • All Fall Down by Ally Carter: I liked Carter’s previous series.  Embassies are usually associated with spies-thank you USA Chanel-so I’m hoping that some Gallagher Girls characters make an appearance.  Okay, it’s probably too much to ask.
  • The Boy Next Door by Katie Van Ark: Sort of on the fringe about whether to cancel this one or not (a couple of blogger’s I trust gave it less than a satisfactory rating), but I’m still going to give it a shot because….figure skating.  And if I don’t like it I can always exploit Blades of Glory gifs.
  • The Conspiracy of Us by Maggie Hall: Jet setting and The Da Vinci Code.
  • Geek Girl: There’s been Princess Diaries comparisons.  And it really seems like an MJ book.
  • Fairest by Marissa Meyer: The Evil Queen’s story.  That and I need something to tie me over till Winter.

Six total, but they’re spread out some.  Not near as bad as my current March or May preorders.  I’ve actually cut it by a couple too.  It’s funny, some months I’ll go with no preorders and sometimes it will be like this. I figure I might work my way through a couple of these.  I still have to catch up on December’s pile.

Planned Reads from the Owned Pile:

  • The first three Princess Diaries books (The Princess Diaries,Princess in the Spotlightand Princess in Love): My goal is to have read the entire series-half books included-by the time the middle grade spinoff is released in May (the actual sequel to the tenth book is being released in June).  I figure if I can get through three books a month, there about I’ll be finished in time.  The good news is I’m already 2/3 of the way done with my January goal.
  • Princess of Thorns by Stacey Jay: My enthusiasm for this one is a little deflated-based on reviews-but I’m still probably going to give this one a shot this month.
  • This Shattered World by Aimee Kaufman and Meagan Spooner:  I wanted to rip this one open the day I got it-last week.  Alas, real life has gotten in the way.

These are the only commitment books I have down so far.  I am going to do a longer post on what a terrible reader I am (via The Shelf of Doom) to show you all my reading options-yeah, I just got done shelf cleaning today.

Library:

  • Black Ice by Becca Fitzpatrik: I’m oddly curious.  Okay?  I just want to see how Fitzpatrick justifies this.  Because you all know the girl is going to fall in love with the psycho.
  • Beware the Wild by Natalie C Parker: I’ve heard good things about this one.  We’ll see.
  • Fool Me Twice by Mandy Hubbard: Another one I was apprehensive about buying.  The summary is one that could either really work or really make me cringe.
  • Sublime by Christina Lauren: The cover looked interesting, okay.
  • Stolen by Melissa de la Cruz and Mike Johnston: Yeah, I don’t know why.  I think I accidentally requested it. I probably won’t read it, since I took a pledge not to review this series after the first one read like it was on acid.
  • Breathe, Annie, Breathe by Miranda Kennaley: I’ve seen good reviews, and I love contemporaries.
  • Shut Out by Kody Keplinger: I enjoyed The Duff, so I checked this one out just because
  • Perfected  by Kate Jarvick Birch: Um, because the summary is sort of horrifying and I just have to see.
  • House of Ivy and Sorrow by Natalie Whipple: Witches.

Yeah, a lot of these are why am I even bothering.  Though there are a few I have actual interest in.  I think with library books, I try to give books I’d otherwise glare at a chance.  I mean, I’m NOT paying for it…besides, one of them might surprise me.

Goals:

Really, to just get a decent dent into some of these.  Hopefully, next month will be a bit more productive than December.  However, work is going to pick up, so we’ll see.

Leave a Reply

