Unpopular Opinons Tag

Christina from A Reader of Fictions posted this tag and I thought it looked pretty cool, so I’m giving it a shot.  If you’re interested in it consider yourself tagged-I’m really bad at picking individual people to tag because it reminds me of selecting teams and how awkward is so I’m just going to bypass that.

A book or series that everyone seemed to hate but you loved:

While I wasn’t a huge fan of the sequel in this series, but I really liked the first book.  And a lot of my friends didn’t.  There were a lot of nice things that I loved.  The use of language.  And I actually (don’t hate me) sort of liked the Athena ship in the first book.  In the second book, it was disastrous for the goddess’s character but in the first one I was like yay!  Ship!

A love triangle that didn’t end the way you wanted it to.

Really, who shipped Rose with Dimitri?  Okay, a lot of people.  But Adrian was just awesome and didn’t deserve that.  And I know that I did end up loving Sydrian, but a part of me still wanted my happily ever with Adrian and Rose-at least when I revisit Vampire Academy.

A book genre you hardly ever reach for.

Eh, I’m not a fan of dystopia.  I’ve read some of it-when it was basically all you could find on the shelves, but if I have the choice and if it isn’t highly recommended to me, I probably won’t pick it up.  The reason why, most of them seem awfully formulaic and rely on vague world building.  The Selection is a really good example of a YA dystopia that doesn’t work.  However, unlike most of these books I actually had hope for this one.  Mainly because there seemed to be  a lighter almost fluff feel  to the book based off of the premises, but the actual exection.   Oy Vey.

A popular or beloved character you did not like.

I am not a fan of Ginny Weasley.  And it’ s not because I despise Hinny almost as much as I despise Heron-seriously, that one is so headed to Magical Divorce Court.  I get why Jo wanted OBHWF (One Big Happy Weasley Family), but it was forced.  Whatevs.  The character Ginny was hardly well formed.  Other than knowing she was Ron’s somewhat pretty sister that Harry randomly decided he wanted to bone after Cho Chang and him didn’t work out  I don’ t know anything about her.  And she’s even worse in fannon.

A popular author you just can’t enjoy.

I really tried  with this series and a short story of hers, but I just don’t think I was in the mood.  Everyone raves about Laini Taylor.  I might try to pick up her stuff later on, but her use of language is so rich that I literally have to pay more attention than I usually do when I read so….yeah, probably not.

A popular trope you’re tired of:

Sick lit.  I just can’t get behind it.  Maybe it’s because I had a cousin die fairly young from cancer, but I really can’t get behind these stories.  There’s just something that rubs me the wrong way with them.  It’s  like how can you make having a terminal illness romantic?  Or think the story is poignant?  To me it’s just a cheap ploy that will cause you to use a box of Kleenexes. And on that note, I guess it’s bad for the environment too.

A popular series you have no interest in reading.

I hear the first book’s great, but after that it sort of goes down hill.  Plus, I’ve been spoiled about the ending and it just seems so stupid to me.  Oh, and did I mention it’s a dystopia….

A TV show/movie that was better than the book.

 

Yes, I like the Disney movie a LOT better than the original fairytale.  Because 1) the original fairytale is depressing, 2) it’s borderline macabre with the whole cutting out the tongue thing, and 3) there’s a not so nice moral lesson learned in it that I hate.  The Disney version might have an idiotic main character but it has Prince Eric, amazing animation, and the music.

 

One thought on “Unpopular Opinons Tag

  1. Pingback: Unpopular Opinions Tags | Stephanie's Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

