The TBR Pile: Melt Down

July is one of my least favorite months of the year.  I am just not a summer fan, ya’ll.  And from about July through really mid October it is ridiculously warm outside.  June is pretty bad too, but July is high summer.  However, reading wise…well, it’s pretty good since I have a lot of books to catch up on and more preorders to read.

Preorders:

  • Rebel Mechanics by Shanna Swendson: A stempunk alternative history.  What’s not there to love. Plus, it almost seems a bit 4th of July to me.  You know, if the British kicked the Americans butts, had magic, and all of that.
  • The Fixer by Jennifer Lynn Barnes: A lot of people really like this one.  Plus, this one keeps being compared to Scandal.  So, I’m really interested in seeing if the main character has an affair with the president.  Or since it’s YA I guess it would be president’s son unless  it’s a very creepy president (God hope not).
  • Geek Girl: Model Misfit by Holly Smale: Because I enjoyed the first one so much and I need something to help me get over my my Royal Wedding hangover.
  • Go Set a Watchman by Harper Lee: Because I have a curiosity streak like a cat and I know my mom’s going to read it so if I don’t like it, it’s not going to go to waste.
  • Every Last Breath by Jennifer L Armentrout: This is like my crack series and it’s ending.  Waaah! I honestly, doubt the guy I voted for won, but I really don’t care this is one love triangle where I’ll be happy either way.
  • Pretending to be Erica by Michelle Painchaud: Because changing your identity via plastic surgery is always a good thing.
  • Ink and Bonby Rachel Caine: I’ve heard wonderful things about this one, so we’ll see.

Backlist Commitments:

Because Bastille Day is in July as well, I feel like celebrating by reading this.

Most Look Forward Book:

Because I am ridiculously curious.  That’s why.  It will either be truly wonderful or…I don’t want to think about the alternative.

 

 

7 thoughts on “The TBR Pile: Melt Down

    • I voted for Zayne, mainly because I felt he wasn’t going to get that much love and I thought it might be interesting if he was the guy chosen in the end. Honestly, I’m okay with either of them. Which to me is the best kind of love triangle because no disappointment.

      • You have a pretty good point. It’d be interesting to see how Roth would deal with that. I just feel like Zayne is so “big brother-y” to Layla, and sometimes it’s hard for me to see them as a romantic couple, rather than siblings, ya know? By the end of Stone Cold Touch, I was starting to come around, though. At this point, I’m like you. Sure, I have my favorite, but I’m not going to totally hate the book if my favorite doesn’t win. Did you see the teaser that JLA posted on Facebook (and I think Twitter)?

      • Yeah, he was a bit big brother-y. And to be honest, I was all Team Roth in book one. I really didn’t like how he treated Layla at the beginning of book two (even though he had a good reason to act that way). I was like give her a hint at what is going on, man. It just came off a little too Edward Cullen-y to me. But whatever, I get why JLA did that-to build the Zayne and Layla relationship Which I really didn’t think I was going to like, but oddly did. And no, I haven’t checked out the teaser yet. Work has really killed my time this week.

      • Oh, thanks for the link. It’s not much, but very interesting. Yeah, I get really annoyed with New Moon routines so that probably factored in to why I voted for Zayne other than I have a thing for underdogs. But i really have a sneaking suspicion most people will have voted for Roth. Which I am really okay with.

      • Yeah, I’m assuming that the woman in the teaser is probably Lilith. I know that most people I talked to voted for Roth, but there may be a whole faction of people who voted for Zayne but just aren’t active on social media. It’d be one heck of an upset, because there are some serious Roth super fans out there.

Leave a Reply

