That time Nancy Drew Met Indiana Jones (Sort Of): Nancy Drew Tomb of the Lost Queen

Nancy doesn’t actually meet Indiana.  Big disclaimer there.  But it would’ve been awesome if she would’ve.

I actually enjoyed his game a lot, even though it’s plot was a disaster (more about that later).

The puzzles were tricky enough, but once you started playing there were patterns there that made some of them easy to solve.  I still used lots and lots of hints though.  I’m not proud of it,but I am an impatient person.

Oddly enough, it’s not the actual puzzles that mess me up.  Okay, some of them do.  BUT what really gets me in the newer games is triggering an event to happen in the game.  I think there was a good hour or two I just spent exploring trying to trigger the next event to occur.

That map in the Antiquities Tent really didn’t help matters.

The characters were okay.  Like I said the plot was a bit of a disaster, I thought if they spent maybe fleshing out some aspects of the characters personalities it might’ve helped the plot make more sense.  But I will still say that the characters are more well formed than Alibi in Ashes.

I love that there was a recurring character in this game.  That character is a personal favorite of mine and I’m glad that the company continues to use her.

As for as games go, this is more on the educational side-though I really am wondering how accurate some of the hieroglyphic bits are.  Which is fine, because I get they were trying to do a puzzle.  It’s just that…

It just didn’t seem that accurate to me. And let’s face it, if Indy was in this game things would’ve ben solved a lot faster.  Plus, Nancy would’ve dumped Ned for him (obvs).  Because Indiana Freaking Jones.

Oddly this game felt almost claustrophobic.  I guess that was the intention since it is set in a dig location in the middle of the desert.  I guess you are suppose to feel isolated and beyond help.  Though, it seems like everyone on the site got help pretty fast.  So, the whole desperation feel, there really was no need.

As I said before the actual mystery is a little bit out there.  I still can’t figure out the motive behind the villain.  It was just like one character said he/she was bad and we took her word for it without discovering anything else.

I mean….I still don’t get why he was doing what he was doing. And it’s been a week since I played this game.

If you want to learn about Ancient Egypt and so Egyptian inspired puzzles, this is your game.  Despite it’s plot holes it’s really enjoyable and challenging.  But if you care about the story….yeah.

Overall Rating: B-

One thought on “That time Nancy Drew Met Indiana Jones (Sort Of): Nancy Drew Tomb of the Lost Queen

  1. Pingback: If I Was a Publisher: Reawakened by Colleen Houck | Howdy YAL!

Leave a Reply

