How I am Getting Out of My Reading Slump

As you might’ve noticed, I haven’t been reading as much lately.  A lot of this was caused by a unplanned move as well as just general grumpiness about blogging in general (which I’ve already blogged about).  I think I’m finally starting to break out of this funk.  And I think a lot of it had to do with rereading and reading out of genre.  Both have really done wonders.

Honestly, for awhile there I thought about spending an entire month reviewing-reruns.  The only thing is, I don’t want to limit myself to just reading reruns or books that aren’t YA, so I’m not going to have a set month.  But I will be reading a lot of older books in the future.  I think rereads, help me remember what I love about reading.  While I like reading new books, it’s easier to get caught up with stinkers.

 

Besides, I honestly, am having much more difficulty reading bad books than I used too.  When I first started blogging, I found it bearable reading a bad book to dissect them.  I was a creative writing major in undergrad so I did spend my time dissecting stories pulling them a part and to a degree I guess I did that with my law school stuff as well-except pulling cases and dissecting them for relevant case law and all that legal bull shit stuff.

The thing is, it grows tedious pulling apart books and trying to make the reviews original after awhile where it feels like work.  And honestly, some of these authors I just feel sorry for.  I don’t know why they can’t  improve their work.  I just read a book the other month by an author who’s firsts series I thought was pretty much THE worst thing in the world, so I had hopes she’d get better.  Writing the review of her new book (which was worse) than her original series was really hard to do because it just felt like I was beating a dead horse.

Anyway….that’s one of the reasons I’ve been so gunho lately about rereading.  I know what I’m getting into, I’m going to enjoy the experience and you can pick up little things you didn’t notice the first time around.

Also, I’ve been going to more adult titles-particular romance lately.  While I am not huge on fictional sex scenes-because the imagery surrounding intercourse is more often than not gag worthy (seriously, just use freaking penis and vagina, I do not need to be hearing about her inward goddess flower or his quivering member or whatever-because no, just no)-I do enjoy seeing more adult relationships. And I am a sucker for a good historical romance, even if I’m going to have to read through the bullshit of the times-i.e. abusive dickwads.

Plus, changing genres allows the stuff that I usually read to appear fresher and it dampens the frenzy to finish things on a set time table thing which I hate.

Of course, there are some downsides to it.  The TBR pile has grown larger.  But I really don’t care.  It will get read at some point-eventually.

If it gets me out of my reading slump, I really don’t care.

 

Leave a Reply

