Elementary Did It Already: Lock and Mori by Heather Perry

 

 

FACT: Someone has been murdered in London’s Regent’s Park. The police have no leads.

FACT: Miss James “Mori” Moriarty and Sherlock “Lock” Holmes should be hitting the books on a school night. Instead, they are out crashing a crime scene.

FACT: Lock has challenged Mori to solve the case before he does. Challenge accepted.

FACT: Despite agreeing to Lock’s one rule—they must share every clue with each other—Mori is keeping secrets.

OBSERVATION: Sometimes you can’t trust the people closest to you with matters of the heart. And after this case, Mori may never trust Lock again.

Source: GoodReads

I enjoyed the book.  The thing is though, it’s not a good Sherlock retelling.

Because this Sherlock does not have a clue.

The mystery also was very easy to solve and not that very difficult either.  I figured it out  at the funeral after the first murder.  And it didn’t take that much skill to figure out.

I could be generous.

I could say that I solved the mystery because all those hours of playing Nancy Drew made me a sassy detective, but no.  It was a fairly obvious mystery.

One that Mr. Holmes should’ve easily deduced.

But he didn’t.

Instead, he acted like a lovelorn teen for most of this book.  Okay, with some oddities about him.  But this wasn’t the Sherlock that I’m used too.

And the thing is, I know retellings can take a lot of different directions, BUT you have to keep some of the core aspects true.  And one of the core aspects of Sherlock Holmes is he doesn’t get moony eyed by a girl.

Or should I say moony eyed in the way where he looses track of a case.

It was really shameful.

All Sherlock comparisons aside though, I did enjoy this one in a guilty pleasure type of way.  Mori was an interesting character to explore and I’m looking forward to her descent into sociopath-dum.   And I did like her relationship with Lock even though Sherlock was acting way OOC.

That’s the thing, for me to enjoy this one, I had to ignore the fact that it was a retelling.

The mystery, as I said before, really wasn’t much.  Maybe this was because it was in Mori’s viewpoint, not Sherlock or Watson’s where the mystery is the primary focus on the story.  Here it was more or less Mori making some choices that are probably going to effect her life later down the road.

Also, I liked the fact that this book focused on an abusive family.  It’s something you don’t see often in YA.  While there were times I was inwardly shuddering, I think Perry did a pretty good job depicting what is an awful situation.  Of course, Mori’s situation is more dramatic than most.’

In the end, I really can’t say what it is about this one.  By all accounts, I shouldn’t like it.  It is a horrible retelling.  However, I do like villain origin stories and was surprising shipping this ill fated couple.  Who knows, maybe it will deviate from cannon and work out for them.

Okay, maybe it’s hopeful thinking that things will go AU from this gif.

Regardless, this is going to probably be a guilty pleasure series of mine.

 

Overall Rating: B-

 

Leave a Reply

