Sleepy and Gina for the Win: Reunion by Meg Cabot

Accidents happen. With ghostly consequences, if you’re Susannah Simon.

The RLS Angels are out for blood, and only Suze can stop them – since she’s the only one who can see them. The four ghostly teenagers died in a terrible car accident, for which they blame Suze’s classmate Michael… and they’ll stop at nothing until he’s joined them in the realm of the dead.

As Suze desperately fends off each attempt on Michael’s life, she finds she can relate to the Angels’ fury. Because their deaths turn out not to have been accidental at all. And their killer is only too willing to strike again.

Source: GoodReads

What I Remember:

When I first read this I was sort of in a rush, but there were a few things that stuck out.  One being the relationship between Suze’s NYC bestie, Gina, and her stepbrother, Sleepy.  I shipped them oddly enough and they were a background relationship.  Also, I loved the action scenes in this book.  Although, this isn’t the zenith of action for this series (that alone goes to book four), this one does have a few good ghost busting moments.  And I was entranced enough to get through it without  my eyes wondering to the last book.

Reread:

Reunion holds up pretty well, but it is a filler book.  It really isn’t until the fourth book in this series that things start moving for the overall series arc.

Although, there is more Suze and Jesse development.  So, yay on that front.

To be honest, books 1-3 follow a similar format.  Suze attracts the eye of a guy who is somehow being haunted or  knows someone who’s being haunted.

In this book it’s Michael Meducci who I always view as Michael Moscovtiz evil twin who is less sexy  but probably just as nerdy that ends up killing Josh Ritcher.

Okay, that didn’t happen in The Princess Diaries.  Though, it could’ve if Meg Cabot wanted to sort of make in like The Heathers.

Weird digression aside, it’s interesting in this book that the hot guy Suze has to watch over isn’t really that hot-unless he’s not wearing any clothes.  And is borderline creepy.

Another bonus to this book, was the introduction of Gina.  Who is one of my favorite side characters.  And I really did like the side ship with her and Sleepy.  She’s the reason I tolerate that stepbrother.  I like Doc too.  Never really grew to like Dopey though, but I think that’s the typical feeling.

Anyway, Gina has some great lines in this installment.  Some of my favorite, involved her reacting to Kelly Prescott’s proposed tank policy against China.  Why I find it hilarious, upon reread is the ridiculous election that’s going on in the US right now.  Seriously, I felt that every ludicrous thing Kelly Prescott said was akin to something The Donald would say.

As far as filler books go, I found this one a little bit more tolerable than Ninth Key not that Ninth Key is bad, it’s just definite filler.

Overall Rating: A B+.

Leave a Reply

