The Book That Tricked Many Into Thinking It Was the First in the Series: Haunted by Meg Cabot

Is it possible to be haunted by someone who isn’t even dead?

Suze is used to trouble, but this time she’s in deep: Ghostly Jesse has her heart, but Paul Slater, a real flesh-and-blood guy, is warm for her form. And mediator Paul knows how to send Jesse to the Great Beyond. For good.

Paul claims he won’t do anything to Jesse as long as Suze will go out with him. Fearing she’ll lose Jesse forever, Suze agrees. But even if Suze can get Jesse to admit his true feelings for her, what kind of future can she have with a guy who’s already dead?

Source: GoodReads

First, Mediator news.  Apparently, Meg is posting a little short story that called The Proposal in the Mediator universe in January.  Obviously, I have already preordered it-though I don’t know if I’ll get to it in January since I’ll be bar studying (we’ll see).

What I Remember:

I really thought this was the first book in the series when I first read it.  And I liked Paul.  I thought he’d be the end game, only because I didn’t know how Suze and Jesse would get together even though I shipped Juze to the end.  Paul wasn’t quite offensive in this book as he is in book four and six.  And you sort of do think he’d be a worthy rival once he grew up a little (spoiler alert: he never did).

Reread:

Okay, so Haunted is a bit of a downer after Darkest Hour.  Darkest Hour is like a book full of adrenaline, in Haunted the action is much more subdued.  It’s not a bad book (I give it a high rating), but rather than focusing on the action it’s more of the let’s focus on building the love triangle book.

Luckily, Meg Cabot doesn’t fall into a lot of the same pitfalls that a lot of offers do in love triangle center books.  I think it’s mainly because Suze has made up her mind, and more or less this love triangle is about do you settle for something you can have or hold out for something that is feasibly impossible.

It’s actually an interesting approach to a love triangle, especially since Suze’s mind is pretty much made up.

But it is still a love triangle, and love triangles pretty much suck.

The ghost episodic feel of the book is kind of a downer.  You just have a grossly immature ghost who isn’t really that big of an issue.

This is also the first book where Suze calls her stepbrothers by their names.  Honestly, I wish she would’ve kept on calling Dopey Dopey.  I can get why she calls Sleepy and Doc by their names, but Dopey deserved to be called Dopey.

Just saying,

More mediator or should I say shifter mythos is explored which is nice because we needed that.  However, while Jesse was definitely in the last book, I felt like he was missing a bit from this one.

While there are a lot of things about Haunted that are filler, it’s that filler that’s needed.  I really wish the series was allowed to go like it was originally planned to, because I feel like it would’ve made it stronger in some points.  And I think it might’ve somewhat jilted Haunted, but whatever.

Overall Rating: A B+  I could’ve dealt with more, but it’ll do.

Leave a Reply

