Top Ten Tuesday: Everybody Likes You But Me

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by the Broke and the Bookish.

This is the first one of these I am doing post bar.  The theme this week is character’s that everybody likes that you hate.  Here’s my list:

10) Celaena from the Throne of Glass Series buy Sarah J Maas: 

Grant it, I only read the first book and she might improve with time, but it really annoys me how she keeps saying she’s a bad ass and she just sort of fails on her face.  She does have good taste in clothes though.

9) Ron Weasley from Harry Potter by JK Rowling:

I just don’t really like Ron.  I did like him in the early books, but then he sort of turned into a douche in the fourth book.  And he and Hermione are so headed to divorce court, I don’t care what you say.

8) Clary Fray from The Mortal Instruments Series by Cassandra Clare:

God, what an idiot.  That’s all I have to say about this one.

7) WillowDean from Dumplin by Julie Murphy:

Almost everyone I talked to loved WillowDean and in theory I wanted to love her, but she came off as yet another insecure YA character whose a bit of an idiot.  Grant it, the book would’ve been a lot shorter if it wouldn’t have highlighted her being a nincompoop but…I thought she was going to be a bad ass instead of a whiney ass.

6) Rose Hathaway from Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead:

Truth be known, I liked Rose until the six book.  Well, really the fifth book.  She not only broke my Adrian’s heart, but she decided to stay in a relationship that was unhealthy on multiple levels.

5) Scarlet from the Scarlet Trilogy by AC Gaughen:

Oh, boy.  I have a bone to pick with this character.  I was excited about reading Scarlet because I heard about what a bad ass this main character was, but she was not to say in the least.  Scarlet commits the cardinal sin of speaking unintelligible dialect and just be annoying in general.  Oh, and she’s in one helluva a unhealthy relationship.

4) Zoey Redbird from House of Night by PC and Kristin Cast:

Oh, fuck her.

And believe me, some people actually do like her.

3) Bridget from Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants by Ann Brashares:

I actually sort of liked Bridget when I first read these books, but the older I get the more she annoys me.  And I think part of it is just becoming older and seeing a character appear a lot more childish than she did ten or so years ago.  Especially in that grow up follow up.   Um, hello, prenatal vitamins much.

2) Simon in Carry On by Rainbow Rowell:

Simon was just sort of blah to me.  It wasn’t that I really hated him, but I didn’t like him either.   Most people raved about how wonderful he was and I was like?????  Funny, I was sort of like that about Cath in Fangirl too.

1) Harriet Manners in Geek Girl by Holly Smalle:

I liked Harriet in the first book, but man did she annoy me by the time I got to the second and third book.  I’m hoping her foulness subsides like Princess Mia’s did as she ages.  Alas, though, I have little hope.

 

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Everybody Likes You But Me

  1. Finally someone else who can’t stand Ron! He’s my least favorite of the Weasleys besides Percy. While there were a few redeeming qualities throughout the series, he just had more negatives that balanced him down.

    • Ron haters unite! I am interested how he is portrayed in The CUrse Child though. If he actually matured or is an overgrown man child still. I’m thinking probably the latter.

Leave a Reply

