Last Years Purchasing Mistake: Last Year’s Mistake by Gina Ciocca

Before:
Kelsey and David became best friends the summer before freshman year and were inseparable ever after. Until the night a misunderstanding turned Kelsey into the school joke, and everything around her crumbled—including her friendship with David. So when Kelsey’s parents decided to move away, she couldn’t wait to start over and leave the past behind. Except, David wasn’t ready to let her go…

After:
Now it’s senior year and Kelsey has a new group of friends, genuine popularity, and a hot boyfriend. Her life is perfect. That is, until David’s family moves to town and he shakes up everything. Soon old feelings bubble to the surface and threaten to destroy Kelsey’s second chance at happiness. The more time she spends with David, the more she realizes she never truly let him go. And maybe she never wants to.

Told in alternating sections, LAST YEAR’S MISTAKE is a charming and romantic debut about loving, leaving, and letting go.

Source: GoodReads

Another DNF!

It’s funny because I read this one the same day after I quit reading The Notorious Pagan Jones.   Both of the books I ended up giving up on but for different reasons.

Last Year’s Mistake I was hoping would be a light forthy read.  Light forthy reads are actually sort of a hard thing to pull off successfully.  Unfortunately for this book, it was not a success.  I quit after reading roughly 90 pages of the book.

The structure sort of has the same structure as The Last Five Years in the fact that it will flip back and forth from the present to the past.  It doesn’t work too well in book form, because it just makes the book just jarring.   Plus, I didn’t really feel like I could get emotionally attach to any of these characters since it did take place in the same point of view (Kelsey’s) and I feel like the flashbacks could’ve been better even inwoven through the story or written in a purely chronological order.

Speaking of Kelsey, I could give a flying flip about her.  Apparently, there’s a new guy who caused her problems in the past so she’s tempted to cheat on her new hot piece of ass.

That’s all I really know about her.

David just seems as much as a cardboard cut out as the hot boyfriend whose name I can’t even remember.

Honestly, I didn’t really care about any aspect about this book which was why I DNF’d it.

It’s going to be a weird thing to say, but I just felt like this book was shallow.  Can books even be shallow?  If they can be it would be this book.

There was just no substance to it.  To be fair, it used a pretty standard cliche, but it didn’t even attempt to make it something more like other contemporary writers have done in the past.  Here, it’s just the “gimmick” of the novel is it’s structure, and like I previously stated it bugged me more than pulled me into the story.

Obviously, I didn’t finish this one like I didn’t finish The Notorious Pagan Jones while the the first book at least had an interesting hook, there was nothing about this one that interested me rather than trying to perfect he simple plot the book was one it just decided that changing the structure of the novel was sufficient enough to make it different.

Overall Rating: DNF

Leave a Reply

