Kill, Kill, Kill: Kill the Boy Band by Goldy Moldavsky

From debut author Goldy Moldavsky, the story of four superfan friends whose devotion to their favorite boy band has darkly comical and murderous results.

Okay, so just know from the start that it wasn’t supposed to go like this. All we wanted was to get near The Ruperts, our favorite boy band.

We didn’t mean to kidnap one of the guys. It kind of, sort of happened that way. But now he’s tied up in our hotel room. And the worst part of all, it’s Rupert P. All four members of The Ruperts might have the same first name, but they couldn’t be more different. And Rupert P. is the biggest flop out of the whole group.

We didn’t mean to hold hostage a member of The Ruperts, I swear. At least, I didn’t. We are fans. Okay, superfans who spend all of our free time tweeting about the boys and updating our fan tumblrs. But so what, that’s what you do when you love a group so much it hurts.

How did it get this far? Who knows. I mean midterms are coming up. I really do not have time to go to hell.

Source: GoodReads

Man, Kill the Boy Band it’s one of those books that you just have to stare at when you finish it.  And are like what did I read….

And I honestly still don’t know what to think of Kill the Boy Band.

A part of me really liked it, but a part of me was just sort of squemish about it.

I think the problem was that Kill the Boy Band was borderline on that fine line of being too much. While I enjoyed upon first read, I do not know if I will like it when I reread it.  While the dark humor worked for the most part this time around, it bordered heavily on cartoonish.

I think I’ll talk about what I liked about this book.  I think the best thing about this one was the narrator.  The protagonist’s real name is never identified and really we don’t know much about her other than a few facts.  The ambiguity with this character is actually a good thing because it leaves the reader questioning what they read.

The protagonist’s friends though I have issues with. The best thing about the friends is that their pretty much a diverse cast of people with different backgrounds.  However, that being said there was some major stereotyping going on.  I think I’ll discuss the worst depiction of any character in the book: Apple.

Oh God.

Apple is just, well, horrible.  And she could’ve been an interesting character.  Apple is of Chinese descent and was adopted by presumably WASP parents (I can’t remember if it’s ever specified in the book).  The character is heavyset and this is pretty much a cue for rampant fat jokes which just have me groaning and shaking my head.  To make matters worse, at best she is cartoonish.

A part of it might’ve been the tone the book was trying to go it is a black comedy in the vein of such classics like Serial Mom, but I’m sort of done with the sort of jokes/characterizations that were thrown at Apple.  It was just childish and pretty much ridiculous.

The other characters weren’t that much better. You have Isabel who comes off as being a psychopath, but is never really explained.   And then there’s Erin who…wow, just wow.  In a way she was my favorite of the lot because she was just so cold and it was pretty amazing.

Then there are the Ruperts.  Ah, the Ruperts.   I grew up in the days of the Backstreet Boys and NSYNC.  Though to be honest, I never really did get the boy band phenomenon like some people.

I still really enjoyed this book though, despite the facts that I couldn’t exactly connect to this level of fandom.

More or less, it was hilarious with the little nods that were made that could apply to any boy band.   There’s always one semi talented member in the band, and the rest are really crap.  There is one outright useless one.  One sort of ugly one that’s suppose to be the rebel.  And all boy bands break up eventually.  I love how all these cliches  were used to add to the story.

It was very entertaining.

The thing is, there were a lot of things about the book that didn’t make sense.  The plot was a little too ludicrous for 2016.  If this was written in the 80’s or really pre-internet I would’ve bought the characters getting away with it, more than I could post internet world.  Though, the random Twitter and Instagram bits were interesting, though I could see them being viewed as very jarring in a few years (much like the Justin and Britney forever mentions in the early Princess Diaries books are very cringe worthy today).

I will give this to Moldavsky though, this sort of book is fairly new for YA.  I haven’t seen or if they exist adequately sought out dark comedy YA and it was sort of nice to read it.  The thing is, I sort of enjoy my dark comedies better in movie and TV form, I think maybe the acting helps deal with some of the OTT.

Overall, while Kill the Boy Band wasn’t exactly an A read for me,  it did its job.  It entertained me, but it didn’t come free of problems.

Overall Rating: I think I’m going to give it a solid B, but I have a feeling the rating would slip greatly upon reread.

4 thoughts on “Kill, Kill, Kill: Kill the Boy Band by Goldy Moldavsky

  1. Yeah, I felt the same way about this when I read it not long ago. There were parts I liked about it, but others made me go “Ehhhh.” It laid pretty heavily on the stereotypical presentations. There were some nods towards fandom culture that I appreciated, but I feel like some of it didn’t really go far enough.

    • Yeah, I really wanted to love this one too. But I didn’t hate it which is a good thing, I guess. The Apple character though drove me crazy. I just started skimming the sections with her in it after awhile.

  2. I definitely agree, but I really liked it because I CONNECTED with it and its fangirlyness. I appreciated a lot of the fandom culture, and I guess there’s that childish part of me (I’m not even 20 yet omg) who still appreciates those “cartoonish” dark humor parts.

    • Yeah, it’s very easy to connect to. I wasn’t into boy bands-though I was involved in other fandom culture and it was relatable. I just…I don’t know. I liked it the first time around, but I really wonder if it will be worth a reread. The more I look at it, the more I get disgusted with the whole Apple bit. But I did love the whole thing with the narrator. So…..

Leave a Reply

