Quite Dry: Guilt by Katherine Longshore

In the court of King Henry VIII, nothing is free–
and love comes at the highest price of all.
 

When Kitty Tylney’s best friend, Catherine Howard, worms her way into King Henry VIII’s heart and brings Kitty to court, she’s thrust into a world filled with fabulous gowns, sparkling jewels, and elegant parties. No longer stuck in Cat’s shadow, Kitty’s now caught between two men–the object of her affection and the object of her desire. But court is also full of secrets, lies, and sordid affairs, and as Kitty witnesses Cat’s meteoric rise and fall as queen, she must figure out how to keep being a good friend when the price of telling the truth could literally be her head.

Source: GoodReads

I bought all of the Royal Circle books at once, but I know I’m going to have to force myself to read Tarnished since I really didn’t care for Brazen ( I DNF’d it) and Gilt was only slightly more exciting.

 

I swear reading Longshore’s version of Tudor events is like watching wallpaper dry-extremely boring.

I think a lot of it deals with the narrator’s while Kitty was slightly more exciting to read about than Mary Fitzroy she was still a bore and I had to really wonder why she was so loyal to Cat (Catherine Howard) who was more or less a 16th version of Regina George in this installment.

You could tell Longshore sort of wanted us to be giddy when her head got chopped off.

I didn’t feel giddy about Cat’s death, I just felt sorry for her for being extremely stupid.

To be fair, I think Longshore did a decent job describing historical events of the Tudor court.  Maybe a little too well.  Part of the problem with writing fictional encounters about history is that if you diverge too much from history people are going to complain, but if  you keep true to history the book is going to be oh so dull like Gilt.

Props though for having cranky and fat Henry the VIII most people portray him as being handsome throughout his life like on the TV show, when it was well documented that he wasn’t in his latter years.

It’s sad that he was so in character and then at the same time I thought that Catherine Howard was more or less a caricature.  To be fair, that’s how history remembers her as being and I think Longshore was trying to be authentic to the source material but it just faltered for me.

I also really didn’t have any sort of feelings for Kitty either which hampered the book too.

I think at the end of the day Gilt didn’t work for me because it just seemed like there was an outside view of what happened.  Yes, Kitty was a supposed insider but she was a rather dull insider whose own story really wasn’t of much interest to me.  And that’s never something you want from a main character.

Overall Rating: A C+ not a horrible book but it’s more like a regurgitation of a history book than a story but in first point of view.

Leave a Reply

