Bond Boy Syndrome: A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J Maas

Feyre survived Amarantha’s clutches to return to the Spring Court—but at a steep cost. Though she now has the powers of the High Fae, her heart remains human, and it can’t forget the terrible deeds she performed to save Tamlin’s people.

Nor has Feyre forgotten her bargain with Rhysand, High Lord of the feared Night Court. As Feyre navigates its dark web of politics, passion, and dazzling power, a greater evil looms—and she might be key to stopping it. But only if she can harness her harrowing gifts, heal her fractured soul, and decide how she wishes to shape her future—and the future of a world cleaved in two.

With more than a million copies sold of her beloved Throne of Glass series, Sarah J. Maas’s masterful storytelling brings this second book in her seductive and action-packed series to new heights.

Source: GoodReads

Be forewarned, if you shipped a certain ship hard at the end of A Court of Thorns and Roses, you’re probably not going to like A Court of Mist and Fury that much.  As for me, I enjoyed it more than the previous installment and it wasn’t like I didn’t ship the ship in the last book.  But still, you’re going to be confused and caught off guard initially when you read this if you cared about the initial ship at all.

Don’t get me wrong,I loved that ship, and I did mourn it throughout what occurred in this book.  But upon reflection, I can understand why the ship ended up NOT working.

Maybe if I read the Throne of Glass series which I’ve heard has a bit of a Bond Girl complex but in reverse-the MC gets a new man like every book-I would’ve not have been amused with the romantic complications that occurred in this book, but as it stands it works.

It actually filled in some of the holes that I had with the first book.

There is something about this series in general that is so atmospheric.  In general I don’t like faerie themed stories, but there’s something about Maas’s spin on it that makes it enjoyable maybe it’s because she is loosely basing this series on some of my favorite fairytales and myths-first Beauty and the Beast and now Hades and Persephone.

Is the book too long: short answer, yeah.  There could’ve been stuff that could’ve easily been cut out of this one, but I still enjoyed it for what it was.  I enjoyed emerging into the Night Court learning more about Rhys and finding out that I did not know everything about Tamlin in the last book.

And Feyre really grew as a character.

Some people might argue that a lot of this development and reveals relied on bashing.  And a part of me thinks that they might have a valid argument.  While 600+ pages cause the reader to forget that what was established and built in A Crown of Thorns and Roses.   However, I would argue that the page count wasn’t what made the changes that were made in A Court of Mist and Fury  were.  I really think if you look at the two books that have been released at this series so far, it’s kind of obvious to see the subtext of book one and see it play out in book two.

Again, while I don’t think A Court of Mist and Fury was perfect by any means, I did think it had a lot to offer and I enjoyed it for what it is.

Overall Rating: Subjectively and A because of the sheer enjoyable but objectively it’s probably closer to an A- or B+

Leave a Reply

