Another Cinderella Story: An Offer From a Gentlemen by Julia Quinn

Will she accept his offer before the clock strikes midnight?

Sophie Beckett never dreamed she’d be able to sneak into Lady Bridgerton’s famed masquerade ball—or that “Prince Charming” would be waiting there for her! Though the daughter of an earl, Sophie has been relegated to the role of servant by her disdainful stepmother. But now, spinning in the strong arms of the debonair and devastatingly handsome Benedict Bridgerton, she feels like royalty. Alas, she knows all enchantments must end when the clock strikes midnight.

Who was that extraordinary woman? Ever since that magical night, a radiant vision in silver has blinded Benedict to the attractions of any other—except, perhaps this alluring and oddly familiar beauty dressed in housemaid’s garb whom he feels compelled to rescue from a most disagreeable situation. He has sworn to find and wed his mystery miss, but this breathtaking maid makes him weak with wanting her. Yet, if he offers his heart, will Benedict sacrifice his only chance for a fairy tale love?

Source: GoodReads

Everyone always talks about how great Julia Quinn books are.  Up to this point, I’ve only read one The Duke and I and I was unimpressed.  I read it before I reviewed books though, hence why I’m not doing a thorough analysis over it and I don’t plan to either-since again wasn’t that impressed.

At that point in my life, most of the HRs I read were my mom’s.  It wasn’t something I was really interested in that much, except they were the only thing I could read at my house and I was a college kid on a budget.  Now that I’ve been in a HR mood lately, I thought I’d give Quinn another shot and bought a few of her titles that stuck out An Offer From a Gentlemen was one of them.

And yes, it’s a Cinderella retelling, and I love the shit out of Cinderella, but in at the end of the day it just didn’t work for me.

I think a lot the reasons why it didn’t work was that even though I know the social norms wouldn’t have allowed Benedict and Sophie to be together, it still annoyed me how Benedict was like I want you to be my mistress rather than my wife, and we’re suppose to somehow find him endearing?  I mean, yeah, eventually he came around but it sort of pissed me off.

Sophie for her part, was a bit of a drip, but then again most Cinderella type characters are.  They are doormats for the most part, as is Sophie.  I did like the way that Quinn set up the scenario, it was clever but it still annoyed me  to no end-and yes, I know Sophie’s options back in that day were sad at best but…but…I somehow wanted her to become a self made women like all these self made men you see in tomances.

Le sigh.

The whole climax of this book was a little over the top too.  Sure, I don’t know that much about 19th century British law-save for all the cow cases I had to read in Contracts I (though that might’ve been 17th century not 19th century law) BUT I don’t think someone could get arrested so easy like that.

What do I know though?

Nothing, it seems.  The villain also was a little cartoonish.  And maybe that’s what bothered me the most about this book, that it lacked shades of gray.  Motivations and characters were really 2D and yeah…just didn’t really work.

I have a few more Quinn books in my stash and I will get to them eventually, but so far I haven’t been that impressed.

Maybe it’s just me though.

Overall Rating: A B- it is a fun read, but it really lacks depth and in hindsight it could’ve been a lot better.

Leave a Reply

