Meaty Plot Eh Ship: Then Came You by Lisa Kleypas

A woman with a secret…

Reckless beauty Lily Lawson delights in shocking London society. She will break any rule to get what she wants . . . and she is determined to stop her younger sister from marrying Alex, Lord Wolverton, a handsome and arrogant earl who has vowed never to fall in love.

A man who will do anything to possess her…

To Alex’s fury, the headstrong hellion presents a temptation he can’t resist. He vows to make her pay dearly for her interference—with her body, her soul, and her stubborn, well-guarded heart.

As Alex and Lily challenge each other at every turn, they are caught up in a white-hot desire that burns through every defense and exposes the mystery of Lily’s past . . . and together they discover that love is the most dangerous game of all. 

Source:GoodReads

Yes, I read another Lisa Kleypas book. That’s because I got a lot of them really cheap at a used book store about a year ago and I’m cleaning out my shelves. Plus, I can’t help but love her books even if some of them are better than others.

Then Came You was written in the early 1990’s and is the first book in the Gambler duology. I actually read the second book awhile back and sort of have reverse shipping meaning I wished Derek and Lily would’ve been the ones who had gotten together for a good 90% of this read until Derek acted like a pimp and then I wanted to deck him.

It’s weird the problems I had with this book are sort of inverse to the problems I had with the Wallflower and Hathaway series. With those books, I really felt that I got to know the ship really well, but then they have outrageous outlandish climax plot points that have me rolling my eyes.

Here, this one has a good plot. Over dramatic, yes. But compared to most Kleypas books, this plot is well formed and the relationship (yes, the actual relationship) seems somewhat neglected.

This is one of those books with a love/hate relationship but it randomly changes from hate to love; and I have to say how it changes is sort of sleazy (thank you NOT, Derek) and I couldn’t ever really get into them because of that. It would’ve been one thing if Alex would’ve told her just to go and that they were even but NO. I don’t think I’ll ever get that.

Also, I don’t think I’ll ever totally be on board with Alex because he had a major case of the grumpies and his comparison to Lily to his dead wife was a bit creepy.

But like I said, I did like the plot. It was interesting with enough mystery in it to make me want to finish the damn thing and figure out how it all played out. The fact that it didn’t appear randomly in the last thirty pages made it better (take that Scandal in Spring), but overall it wasn’t one of Kleypas strongest.

Overall Rating: A B. Enjoyable enough, but I’m sorry Alex isn’t exactly droll worthy.

 

Leave a Reply

