AKA Privilege Brat Gets a Book Deal to Get Into an Ivy: Enter Title Here by Rahul Kanakia

I’m your protagonist—Reshma Kapoor—and if you have the free time to read this book, then you’re probably nothing like me.

Reshma is a college counselor’s dream. She’s the top-ranked senior at her ultra-competitive Silicon Valley high school, with a spotless academic record and a long roster of extracurriculars. But there are plenty of perfect students in the country, and if Reshma wants to get into Stanford, and into med school after that, she needs the hook to beat them all.

What’s a habitual over-achiever to do? Land herself a literary agent, of course. Which is exactly what Reshma does after agent Linda Montrose spots an article she wrote for Huffington Post. Linda wants to represent Reshma, and, with her new agent’s help scoring a book deal, Reshma knows she’ll finally have the key to Stanford.

But she’s convinced no one would want to read a novel about a study machine like her. To make herself a more relatable protagonist, she must start doing all the regular American girl stuff she normally ignores. For starters, she has to make a friend, then get a boyfriend. And she’s already planned the perfect ending: after struggling for three hundred pages with her own perfectionism, Reshma will learn that meaningful relationships can be more important than success—a character arc librarians and critics alike will enjoy.

Of course, even with a mastermind like Reshma in charge, things can’t always go as planned. And when the valedictorian spot begins to slip from her grasp, she’ll have to decide just how far she’ll go for that satisfying ending. (Note: It’s pretty far.)

Source: GoodReads

Enter Title Here, is one of those books where you want to deck the main character face then give her a swirly and wet Willy before finally screaming like an insane person and being hauled off to that special place people go to after they read one too many YA books.

Luckily, I didn’t go to the special place since I DNF’d the book— if reading the entire Halo trilogy has taught me surrendering if often kinder than forcing yourself to have to be rehabilitated through the power of pudding cups (yes, pudding cups are the only thing that can help ill used tropes and the power of love).

To be honest, Enter Title Here was a very strange read for the 72 pages I read. I might’ve been able to stomach it if my tolerance level for bad YA weren’t so low right now. And honestly, I don’t know if the book was bad so much. I mean, I think for all intents and purposes if  Kanakia wanted an unlikable protagonist he had one. I could not stand the MC for the life of me, but at the same time I wouldn’t exactly say that Rashema was an antihero. There was nothing likable about this book.

The book is literally like Election had a baby with that Opal Mehta book and the back-story surrounding the rise and fall of its plagiarist author. Rather, than rehash the entire controversy (which seems to reappear every three or four years despite having happened a decade ago) I’m just going to link you to my review of the book and discussion of the controversy and plagiarism in general. But for those who aren’t inclined to read it here’s the general gist: rich Harvard attending girl got a book deal in which she created a Mary Sue version of herself sort of doing a Legally Blonde in reverse and took numerous passages from popular chick flick and YA authors of the day and got called out for it on the Today Show and other media sources.

Honestly, publishing a YA book that’s a rift on a YA plagiarist is sort of creepy in a weird way, but creepy in that it could potentially be interesting but it wasn’t since everything about this book felt like it was cartoonish. And honestly, if I was Kaavya Viswanathan (the plagiarist) I’d be a little freaked out by this book, but since said plagiarist is a litigator now I guess she really doesn’t have time to concern herself with such things.

But this book is a slap in the face to that scandal if there ever was one, and it does come out as creepy since the Kaavya character is cartoonish, mean, and like I said you want to stuff the character’s head down the toilet.

I don’t think the rifting on Viswanathan was what really made me DNF the book, though it did make me mighty uncomfortable there was also the fact that it seemed to think YA books as a whole were stupid. At least that’s the MC’s approach to them thinking that all a good YA book takes is a popular girl with pretty clothes that has a boyfriend. Again, I think the author was sort of mocking the Viswanathan scandal and books, BUT at the same time it felt like the YA genre as a whole was being mocked.

So, I don’t…I really don’t know about this one.

In the end, I didn’t finish it mainly because I just felt so damn uncomfortable. While I am not a fan of Viswanathan I do thinking the rifting might’ve been a little too much, maybe that’s why I got squeamish. Or maybe I just got squeamish because the MC of the book constantly mocks the genre and readers. It just didn’t work for me.

I have a feeling that some people will like this book, but it’s going to be a polarizing book either you’re really going to like it or hate it like yours truly. Scratch that, I didn’t totally hate Enter Title Here it just made me feel ridiculously uncomfortable.

Overall Rating: A DNF. The deplorable MC whose life closely mirrors a plagiarist and her rip off book was just a bit too much for me.

Leave a Reply

