Another Pride and Prejudice Retelling: The Possibility of Somewhere by Julia Day

Together is somewhere they long to be.

Ash Gupta has a life full of possibility. His senior year is going exactly as he’s always wanted– he’s admired by his peers, enjoying his classes and getting the kind of grades that his wealthy, immigrant parents expect. There’s only one obstacle in Ash’s path: Eden Moore—the senior most likely to become class valedictorian. How could this unpopular, sharp-tongued girl from the wrong side of the tracks stand in his way?

All Eden’s ever wanted was a way out. Her perfect GPA should be enough to guarantee her a free ride to college — and an exit from her trailer-park existence for good. The last thing she needs is a bitter rivalry with Ash, who wants a prized scholarship for his own selfish reasons. Or so she thinks. . . When Eden ends up working with Ash on a class project, she discovers that the two have more in common than either of them could have imagined. They’re both in pursuit of a dream — one that feels within reach thanks to their new connection. But what does the future hold for two passionate souls from totally different worlds? 

Source: GoodReads

So, here’s the thing there are a lot of nice things to say about this book, but overall it’s one I’ll forget in probably two weeks or less.

I’ll discuss what I like about because there are some themes about it that I do like.  I like the fact that we get a person of color as our hero.  That there are candid issues concerning race and class discussed.  I like that our main character didn’t have the money to afford a Porsche and even though she was smart, she had to think out of the box to get into college.

What I didn’t like…well, a lot of things other than that.

The book is a very loose Pride and Prejudice retelling, with several heavy handed winking Pride and Prejudice scenes that include actually referencing the book.

You can stop cringing now, it’s not that painful.  For the most part.

Though honestly, I hate how the book had to remind us that it was a Pride and Prejudice retelling.  Other than the love/hate relationship and the class issue romance, there really wasn’t anything that similar.  Because I don’t remember Mr. Bennet being a racist, child beater, douchebag.

Oh, God, the parents in this book.  They all needed to be socked and then some.  Save for Eden’s adopted mom who was the only parent who I thought was actually fit to raise a kid.  Well, the single mom who Eden babysat for wasn’t too bad.  But Eden’s dad.

What an awful person.  Racist, selfish, just an all around douche bag I have no words for this guy other than he’s a little bit better than Eden’s bio mom who ran off to Hawaii to be with some random guy.

I think the sheer awfulness of the parents in this book was in part what turned me off.  Yes, I know there are awful people out there but most of them have redeeming features.

Eden’s dad does not.

I do appreciate the fact that Day did try to address class issues, but I feel like a lot of the class issues were muddled because Eden’s dad was such a douchebag.  I honestly felt that had the father’s attitude been tempered somehow-shown that he was a redeemable person rather than the POS he was- maybe the class issues would’ve shined more.  As it was though, it seemed a little ridiculous.

As for the rest of the book, I wasn’t a huge fan of the romance and I think that was partially Eden’s fault.  The character is very withdrawn and cold to some degree, and while it’s understandable giving her upbringing it just makes her a bit unlikable.  I think Day tried to get her to open up with the Mundy character, but this sort of worked against the book since Mundy became rather one note and once her purpose was served she literally leaves the book.

In the end, it just wasn’t a very good Pride and Prejudice retelling but it was a decent book.  Like I said, I liked the fact that Eden wasn’t a member of the 1%.  I enjoyed her interactions with her babysitting charges.  I just didn’t enjoy this book as a romance and Eden could be closed off and just unlikable at times.

Overall Rating: A B- it wasn’t bad but it’s not the most memorable book I’ve ever read.  And while I love all the stars on the cover, you know in reality unless the characters were in the absolute wilderness-which they aren’t-they wouldn’t be seeing them.

Leave a Reply

