Ugh: The Last TIme We Were Us by Leah Konen

A passionate summer love story about a girl, her childhood best friend recently released from juvie, and the small-town lies that have kept them apart. A teen romance debut with a dark edge.

Liz Grant is about to have the summer of her life. She and her friend MacKenzie are getting invited to all the best parties, and with any luck, Innis Taylor, the most gorgeous guy in Bonneville, will be her boyfriend before the Fourth of July.

Local teen convict released early.

Jason Sullivan wasn’t supposed to come back from juvie. A million years ago, he was her best friend, but that was before he ditched her for a different crowd. Before he attacked Innis’s older brother, leaving Skip’s face burned and their town in shock.

“Everything is not what you think.”

Liz always found it hard to believe what they said about Jason, but all of Bonneville thinks he’s dangerous. If word gets out she’s seeing him, she could lose everything. But what if there’s more to that horrible night than she knows? And how many more people will get hurt when the truth finally comes out?

“You’re the one person who believes in me.”

Leah Konen’s southern romance swelters with passion as it explores the devastating crush of lies, the delicate balance of power and perception, and one girl’s journey to find herself while uncovering the secrets of so many others.

Source: GoodReads

I think I can tell I’ve been blogging for awhile. Used to I was slightly horrified when I had to DNF something. After all, I had to pay money for the book. I should feel some financial guilt and sometimes I do, but I have gotten to the point where I’ve read so many of these things if it’s crap or I don’t feel it I’m not going to bother and that was my feeling with The Last Time We Were Us. Sixty pages of this sucker read and I was like, “Okay, bye bye.”

As always with DNF reviews, I try to at least give you some content on why I didn’t have the stomach to finish it. With this one it was the main character who was already showing signs of being a real insipid twit. I guess it didn’t help that the first thing she does when we’re introduce is try to buy a beer using a fake ID which coincidently causes her to have a remeet with her old best friend who had to do time in juvie and as the description of the book shows is most likely the love interest.

I wasn’t endeared to this ship by the meeting, and it didn’t help that the hero was described as having greasy hair.

Greasy hair?

Is that supposed to be attractive? Because it makes me want to give the hero a bottle of Herbal Essence to give that crud out of his hair.

Whatever. The meet up was bad. But after that brief scene that the two characters have together, they didn’t interact for the rest of the book that I read and based on how the main character kept whining, I really didn’t care to read further.

Liz was just someone I would not be friends with. As previously mentioned she’s whiney, is willing to commit a misdemeanor/felony (not sure what it would be considered under North Carolina law) for a guy, and just seemed like pretty much a self-involved person. And because of that.

Book is going into the giveaway bin.

Overall Rating: DNF

2 thoughts on “Ugh: The Last TIme We Were Us by Leah Konen

  1. That sucks to hear this about her debut because I really enjoyed her new book The Romantics a lot and was looking forward to reading my ARC of this one too (never got around to it when it was a new release lol). But maybe I’ll give it a shot anyway since it’s not like I’m getting many new review books lately.

    • You might like it better than me (hopefully). If it makes you feel any better a lot of my disdain was that I just didn’t like the lead character, which is something that I think is more subjective than objective.

Leave a Reply

