Plot, What Plot: Mr. President by Katy Evans

From New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Katy Evans comes a sizzling new contemporary romance.

He’s won the hearts of millions. But is he willing to lose his?

I met the president’s son when we were both young. Matthew Hamilton was handsome, polished, and intelligent. I’d never met a guy like him.

He promised me that he’d never run for president. I promised that if he did, I’d be by his side.

Three terms later, an invitation to join Matthew Hamilton’s campaign is the most exhilarating opportunity I’ve ever experienced. I’m determined to make a difference; he is determined to win.

Focused on his goal, Matt is steadfast, ruthless, and disarming. All eyes are on him and his popularity is surging. But soon, the next possible president of the United States is possessing me in more ways than one—and despite the risks, I’m helpless to resist.

We’re stealing touches, stealing moments, and stealing away at night. But our chemical connection is quickly becoming dangerously combustive, putting not only my heart, but Matt’s chance at the presidency on the line.

Winning will take everything. Walking away will be the hardest thing of all.

Source: GoodReads

Rarely, do I ever get embarrassed admitting I read a book.  I mean, I have read some pretty horrible books in the day-just read the archives for this blog if you don’t believe me.  But I am a little embarrassed that I read Mr. President.

It is bad ya’ll.  I mean, yeah I knew it was going to be a romance novel and it was going to have all the trimming that romances have (way too many sex scenes with bad metaphors) but all this book was was one bad sex scene after the next.  There wasn’t even a good plot to have a sex scene skimmer like yours truly interested in this book.

The romance itself was even lacking.

It was so banal.

To the point I didn’t even get the attraction between the two other than that they both found each other hot-aka Matt has dark eyes and Charlotte is a redhead.

The thing that bothered me about this one the most is that there was potential here.  I wanted to explore more into Matt’s dad’s assassination and his campaign. I wanted to know more about the other candidates that made Matt’s third party run viable.   I wanted Charlotte to have some semblance of a personality, but did I get what I wanted.

Big fat nope.

Instead, I was left with some interesting bread crumbs while being WTF out of how unrealistic Charlotte’s situation is.

Girl is twenty-two and with no experience whatsoever is working for a major presidential candidate, and yeah the book points out that there was a connection and a stupid hokey promise made when girl was like teen but still.

Ugh.

That’s all I have to say big fat ugh.  If you’re above the age of twenty-two and have been in the job market/don’t come from privilege, and if you are below the age of twenty-two and don’t come from any sort of privilege you’re going to hate this girl.  She makes Rory Gilmore on the Gilmore Girls revival look likable.

I mean, I was annoyed.

Is it really that hard for an author to write a background for their MC that’s age appropriate and why not age up Charlotte a little.  She could’ve been a little bit older than 22 and it would be perfectly acceptable.  I’m just saying.

Anyway, don’t recommend.  I find books like this odd.  If you go to their GoodReads page they usually have five thousand reviews oohing and aweing about it with lots and lots of pictures of models who are supposed to be the main characters.  But really, those sorts of reviews should’ve been my tip off that this book focused too much on bad sex scenes and not anything else.

Overall Rating: Big fat F.

 

Leave a Reply

