A Small Improvement: See How They Run by Ally Carter

Inside every secret, there’s a world of trouble. Get ready for the second book in this new series of global proportions–from master of intrigue, New York Times bestselling author Ally Carter.

Grace’s past has come back to hunt her . . . and if she doesn’t stop it, Grace isn’t the only one who will get hurt. Because on Embassy Row, the countries of the world stand like dominoes, and one wrong move can make them all fall down.

The twists get twistier and the turns get even more shocking in the second thrilling installment of Embassy Row.

Source: GoodReads

I wasn’t really that impressed with the last Embassy Row book and had reservations about the sequel, but with the third book coming out I decided to give the series another go.  And…well, this installment is better than the first one.

That’s something, right?

I still had a lot of problems with said book though.

I really think my crux with the series is the main character.

God, I can’t stand her.  Which is a shame because Ally Carter does usually create enjoyable leads.  I think my issue with Grace though is that she’s just a pain in the ass in general to everyone she comes in contact in.  In the first book, I sort of understood why Carter had her be so ugh.  I mean, she was supposed to be an unreliable lead.  Thing is, the truth’s been revealed and rather than developing as a character like one would hope, she’s still committing the same bone headed mistakes.  And a lot of the mistakes she makes this time around aren’t exactly fixable.

The romance isn’t bad.

I mean, that’s something, right?  While I don’t care for Grace there is decent chemistry between her and the male lead.  Of course, Grace does a lot of stupid stuff which makes me think dude you can do so much better, but it’s not exactly terrible.

The other real issue I had with this one was that things were sort of oddly paced.    There was so much that happened in this book, and it was all sort of thrown at the audience which while making it an interesting enough read, made it sort of hard to follow.

That being said, I am going to continue on with the third book because there are lots of interesting things that are going on in this series.  But there are bits and pieces of it that are really just a hot mess.

Overall Rating: A B-, some good bones but lots and lots of flaws.

Leave a Reply

