Ain’t Got No Time For This: The Infinity of You and ME by JQ Coyle

What if every life-altering choice you made could split your world into infinite worlds?

Almost fifteen, Alicia is smart and funny with a deep connection to the poet Sylvia Plath, but she’s ultimately failing at life. With a laundry list of diagnoses, she hallucinates different worlds—strange, decaying, otherworldly yet undeniably real worlds that are completely unlike her own with her single mom and one true friend. In one particularly vivid hallucination, Alicia is drawn to a boy her own age named Jax who’s trapped in a dying universe. Days later, her long-lost father shows up at her birthday party, telling her that the hallucinations aren’t hallucinations, but real worlds; she and Jax are bound by a strange past and intertwining present. This leads her on a journey to find out who she is while trying to save the people and worlds she loves. J.Q. Coyle’s The Infinity of You & Me is a wild ride through unruly hearts and vivid worlds guaranteed to captivate. 

Source: GoodReads

I’ve sort of been into alternate worlds lately.  I think it’s because I’d like to believe that somewhere out there there is a sane universe where America wasn’t stupid and elected a president that kicks ass instead of a bad recast of The Manchurian Candidate, but I digress.  Simply stated, the idea intrigues me and there’s a lot of directions you can go in.  It has so much potential and I’m not lying about that.

When I started this book it seemed like it had a nice set up.  I enjoyed the fact that the character was experiencing these things and it was being noticed as mental illness.  Usually, strange events are ignored in YA, so it was nice to see them being seen and being rationalized as something but…but that idea was quickly blown out of the water later on.

Anyway, back on point the initial set up looked good.  Like I said, I liked the logic to it.  I liked the struggles that Alicia had as a student that had special needs.  You don’t see that a lot in YA which is a shame, because there are a lot of kids out there diagnosed with something or the other and having a book that they can identify with is always a good thing.

That being said, as an attorney I sort of got more than a little annoyed when the principal started going on about how Alicia should be denied an education because of her issues.

Her issues weren’t even that bad.  I wanted to tell him that what he was suggesting was illegal.  And I started wondering why they didn’ t have an ARD meeting-though I guess it would be called something else since this book isn’t taking place in Texas-but it made me want to hire a former Children’s Defense fund advocate who should’ve been president to represent her.

You see, this book keeps making me refer to that dumpster fire of an election.  Again, sort of goes back to my introduction paragraph when I keep thinking of that alternate world where all the moronic Neo Nazis didn’t vote because they thought some guy who makes ties in China  and drinks vodka with Putin is going to bring back their offshore job.

Yeah…

Okay, I will go back to talking about the book now.  It had an interesting premises.  And I really was looking forward to reading it because it did have that whole gas lighting plot to it that I find ridiculously irresistible.  What didn’t work though, was that we quickly find out that what Alicia is experiencing is real and that her uncle, therapist and everyone who seemingly has authority in her life is out to get her.

Oh, save for her mom.

At least as far as I got her mom just appeared fucking stupid.  Though, she might’ve been out to get her. Add a mysterious good looking boy.

And fuck me.

All the potential is squeezed out of this one.

I thought about sticking around to see if things got better, but by this point I was through a good chunk of the book and it didn’t seem likely that that was going to happen.  It is a short book and honestly Alicia was acting like a bit of an idiot and…

Yeah.  I have a short attention span these days.  The thing is as far as DNF’s go, I feel bad about giving this one a total fail of a grade.  I mean there were glimpses here and there where it could’ve been a pretty cool book, but it just ended up not really out well for me in the end.  If you can handle some of the annoying cliche tropes better than me, then maybe this one will work for you.

As for me, overall rating: DNF

 

 

Leave a Reply

