Really, This is a Sherlock Retelling: Lock and Mori Mind Games by Heather W Petty

Sherlock Holmes and Miss James “Mori” Moriarty may have closed their first case, but the mystery is far from over in the thrilling sequel to Lock & Mori, perfect for fans of Maureen Johnson and Sherlock.

You know their names. Now discover their beginnings.

Mori’s abusive father is behind bars…and she has never felt less safe. Threatening letters have started appearing on her doorstep, and the police are receiving anonymous tips suggesting that Mori—not her father—is the Regent’s Park killer. To make matters worse, the police are beginning to believe them.

Through it all, Lock—frustrating, brilliant, gorgeous Lock—is by her side. The two of them set out to discover who is framing Mori, but in a city full of suspects, the task is easier said than done. With the clock ticking, Mori will discover just how far she is willing to go to make sure that justice is served, and no one—not even Lock—will be able to stop her.

Source: GoodReads

FYI, if you read Ellie Marney’s Every series you’ll probably be slightly disappointed with the Lock and Mori series (though there are other reasons to be disappointed in it, that I’ll get to in a bit).  The thing is the Every trilogy is a thing of beauty sort of like the TV show, Sherlock.  The Lock and Mori series in turn reminds me of the CBS series, Elementary. It has some awesome moment, BUT it doesn’t live up to the alternative series and has some major flaws.  It should also be pointed out that, this series takes the whole Sherlock/Moriarty trope that Elementary did so  there’s that.

What did I enjoy: this book is very readable.  Once I had time to actually read it, I think I finished it within a couple of hours.  The plot is not that outrageously hard to follow, but it’s intricate enough to keep you engaged so there’s that as well.

What I didn’t like…well, in hindsight its going to sound like a lot.  BUT the book really wasn’t that bad.  I think what really annoyed me was how unnecessary Sherlock’s presence was.  Hell, this could’ve been about Moriarity’s gradual descent into becoming a sociopath and it would’ve been fine.  Better even.  Trying to include the romance just seems sort of forced, and I’m really over them.  Plus, I really wondered why Sherlock even was in the novel.

I also didn’t care for the characterization of both leads.  They’re supposed to be smart, but man are they dense in this.  And Moriarity is supposed to be a cold hearted SOB.  Even in the last installment she showed more glimpses of darkness than in here than here.  Hell, it was kind of embarrassingly naive both she and Lock were.  I guess Petty wanted to make her more sympathetic by having her face these moral dilemmas that she didn’t necessary agree with, but based off of what we saw in the last book she should’ve been able to hold her own a bit more.

I know that the flaws I pointed out sort of sound like deal breakers and they might be if you want a “purer” retelling.  Here’s the thing though, if I didn’t focus on these aspects that much the book   enjoyed it.  If this was just about a teen from an abusive home and had a boyfriend that was interested in criminology I might’ve found it to be decent.  Especially had the first installment not been released and said MC wasn’t already developing signs of becoming a mastermind sociopath and turned those signs around to being an idiot in this one.

Sigh.

Overall Rating: B-

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s