This Club is so Misogynic: Long Way Home Katie McGarry

30738170

Seventeen-year-old Violet has always been expected to sit back and let the boys do all the saving.

It’s the code her father, a member of the Reign of Terror motorcycle club, raised her to live by. Yet when her dad is killed carrying out Terror business, Violet knows it’s up to her to do the saving. To protect herself, and her vulnerable younger brother, she needs to cut all ties with the club—including Chevy, the boy she’s known and loved her whole life.

But when a rival club comes after Violet, exposing old secrets and making new threats, she’s forced to question what she thought she knew about her father, the Reign of Terror, and what she thinks she wants. Which means re-evaluating everything: love, family, friends . . . and forgiveness.

Caught in the crosshairs between loyalty and freedom, Violet must decide whether old friends can be trusted—and if she’s strong enough to be the one person to save them all.

Source: GoodReads

Sigh, Katie McGarry.  I have a sort of love hate relationship with her books.  They are good in a guilty pleasure type of way, but at the same time they grate on my nerves especially her Thunder Road series.

xtitndc8wjdnqupxnq

I think it’s because there is an underlying current of sexism in this particular series, and even though it’s addressed its sort of pushed aside like it’s no biggie and I’m like no…

Like I said, I’ve gotten really testy about things like this lately so if I read this book a year or so ago, it might’ve not bothered me near as much.

The things that bothered me about this series before: the stupid names, the melodrama, the oh he’s attractive so let’s bang cliche.  All still there.

I had hopes that Violet and Chevy (God, I hate that name…the names in this series are just so fucking appalling but I’m not going to go on that fucking rant again) but they are still just as shallow as the rest of the couplings in this series-or either I have grown cynical to the tropes that McGarry uses.

I think that might be part of the problem.  Though, in terms of library lists, McGarry’s isn’t that big so her books shouldn’t feel so repetitive yet.

But they do.

By all accounts, Long Way Home wasn’t that bad.  It had a defined arc, character developments.  But if felt so cliche.  And again, the blatant sexism.

I kept reading it and shaking my head at how Violet is never even considered to a prospect because she’s a girl-not that she’d want to be a part of that stupid motorcycle gang, it’s just that the fact that the option isn’t even given to her and that the club has their stupid no-women-allowed-save-for-to-clean clubhouse annoys me.

And then there’s Violet’s mother who thinks her daughter belongs to a man.

I want to pull out my hair.

Again, the sexism is sort of addressed but it’s more or less in passing and it’s just shrugged off like it’s normal.

And I just wanted to say fuuuckkk.

So, that’s why I’m giving the book a lower rating besides the fact that it really seemed more or less like a recycled version of McGarry’s books.  Here is the trope checklist:

  1. Two ridiculously attractive teenagers
  2. Both have “issues”/secrets
  3. Multiple dead parents which give issues
  4. Economic difficulties, except no economic difficulties when it counts.  Meaning, they all have cool classic cars that they can surprisingly afford to maintain and/or can do things that normal teens would not be able to do unless they had parents that had money.
  5. Ridiculous melodrama that involves someone getting kidnapped/maimed/etc.
  6. Family secrets
  7. So called bad-assess that’s not really bad ass, but said to be bad ass constantly throughout the book where you think they’re bad ass.
  8. Friends that are only there for spinoffs
  9. “Tough” girl that’s not really tough.
  10. A duel narration that sometimes is compelling and sometimes is not.

Okay, okay, I know I sound really mean.  And I really don’t care if I do because I got so annoyed with this book.  I think what really annoyed me, that I did finish it in one setting just because I was hoping it would get better and I was interested in seeing how McGarry managed to crossover the two of her series-it wasn’t that great folks.  In fact, I think the crossover bit added to the eyeball worthy-ness and whatever.

If you are a fan of McGarry’s work and haven’t gotten tired of her stuff AND aren’t annoyed with blatant misogyny that’s brushed off, then yeah give this one a try you’ll probably like it better than me.

Will I read McGarry’s next book…probably because the premises does look like something I’ll enjoy but I’m honestly putting her on the probation list at this point.  If that book isn’t stellar I don’t know if I’ll continue.  Like I said the past three or four releases have seemed rinse and repeat.

Overall Rating: A C.

Leave a Reply

