The Insides of This Book are Just as Cute as the Cover:Geekerella by Ashley Poston

30201136

Geek girl Elle Wittimer lives and breathes Starfield, the classic sci-fi series she grew up watching with her late father. So when she sees a cosplay contest for a new Starfield movie, she has to enter. The prize? An invitation to the ExcelsiCon Cosplay Ball, and a meet-and-greet with the actor slated to play Federation Prince Carmindor in the reboot. With savings from her gig at the Magic Pumpkin food truck (and her dad’s old costume), Elle’s determined to win…unless her stepsisters get there first.

Teen actor Darien Freeman used to live for cons—before he was famous. Now they’re nothing but autographs and awkward meet-and-greets. Playing Carmindor is all he’s ever wanted, but Starfield fandom has written him off as just another dumb heartthrob. As ExcelsiCon draws near, Darien feels more and more like a fake—until he meets a girl who shows him otherwise. But when she disappears at midnight, will he ever be able to find her again?

Part romance, part love letter to nerd culture, and all totally adorbs, Geekerella is a fairy tale for anyone who believes in the magic of fandom.

Source: GoodReads

General Disclaimer: I received an ARC from Netggalley it did not effect my opinion of this book.

Guilty Confession: I love Cinderella.

14uclp67gqthm0

I know I shouldn’t.  It goes everything against my feminist’s principles, but there’s something always so endearingly hopeful about Cinderella type stories and add the fandom aspect that gives Geekerella it’s unique type of edge well this book was on my “Must” list for 2017.

And somehow I got an ARC of it which is a miracle in itself because I hardly ever get ARC’s.  What was even better was I read this book while recovering from a hideous migraine that made it pretty much impossible for me to get out of bed without puking for 24 hours.

And it was the perfect sort of book to read when recovering from a headache.  It wasn’t that heavy and it was the sort of light hearted romp I like to read in YA.  Not depressing at all and the ship as very cute for the most part.  There were also some decent side characters which is nice since usually side characters in romance heavy YA books can be abysmal at best.

But the character Sage was probably one of my favorite characters in the book and so was The Magic Pumpkin which wasn’t a character, but the food truck had its own form which was interesting enough to read with.

Was Geekerella a perfect book?

No.  It had it’s fair share of problems, but at the end of the day it did it’s job.  It let me slip away for those few hours in a feel good bubble, though being the grumpy cantankerous blogger that I am, I am going to point out the faults that it did have.

Most importantly, the there were some tropes in the book that made me grown.  A lot of it had to deal with the stepmother and one of the stepdaughters.  And okay, I know it’s a Cinderella retelling.  I know when there’s a Cinderella retelling that there’s going to be an evil stepmother and at least one evil stepsister.  But my issue with this was that they were so ridiculously evil and had very little consequences that it made me sort of angry at the end.

I was like when is the stepmonster going to get her just desserts.  And don’t tell me it wouldn’t be realistic for her not to have them.  It would be very easy, considering I’m pretty sure she abused her role as guardian to her stepmother/possible executrix to her deceased husband’s estate.  And there are consequences for someone who abuses this role.

Yep, my brain went into lawyer mode when I read about this women, but she needed a good kick in the butt.  And so did one of her daughter’s who was just insufferable on so many letters.

And mild digression, BUT why are there so many books now that have character’s featured that are like minor Youtube celebrities.  I know that makeup tutorials are a thing on Youtube, but not every teen who has a Vine or Youtube Channel is going to be famous.  Or a big deal, I wish this was addressed.

Anyways, that aside I really liked this one.  It was cute and the fandom stuff was actually tastefully done-a lot of the times, I feel like the author ham’s it up, but this wasn’t the case.

If you want a cute light read and can overlook some things give Geekerella a try.  I liked it so much that I’m keeping my preorder in place which rarely happens with me being a penny pincher.

Overall Rating: A B+

Leave a Reply

