#Cringe: #Famous by Jilly Gagnon

25116429

In this modern-day love story, Girl likes Boy, Girl takes photo of Boy and posts it online, Boy becomes accidentally insta-famous. And what starts out as an innocent joke spirals into a whirlwind adventure that could change both their lives—and their hearts—forever. But are fame and love worth the price?

Told in alternating points of view, #famous captures the out-of-control thrill ride of falling for someone in front of everyone.

Source: GoodReads

Is there a Meme solely devoted to cringe worthy yet?

giphy1

I know there are face palm gifs and the like, and there’s a cat that represents grumpiness but is there a meme just for cringing?

Probably.  But because I get annoyed with internet fads-Come on, The Dress.  Really,that was a thing that people got obsessed with for a week or whatever-I’m not going to do anymore research than maybe do a quick search for cringe worthy gifs to put in this review, but if this book  itself could be a potential cringe meme or hashtag though it’s trying for something else.

Side note, when thinking about how to draft this review I thought about looking up famous internet fads and using them in this review.  BUT…to be honest those sorts of things annoy me.  Except that cat playing the piano and all those Corgis.  Got to love the corgis.  But I did not love this book maybe if it had a Corgi I might’ve been able to like it but…

emory-2

Inserting corgi picture because after this book it’s needed to bring balance to this world. 

There is nothing about this book I liked.  Grant it, I didn’t finish it.  I read about 200 pages of it.  But with those 200 or so pages, I hated it to pieces and and those Corgis that become viral sensations have more personalities than the leads in this book.

It’s bad guys.  So, so, bad.

So, the basic premises of the book is this idiot takes a picture of a guy says something stupid about her crush online.  Gets Lifetime-ish bullied while guy becomes popular because (Misogyny Trope 101) and we get the painful scene of an Ellen wannabe trying to get them together give a stupid daytime TV talkshow scheme-note, I might love daytime soaps for their campiness but their cheap counterpart I cannot stand.

There are probably some of you reading this review wondering why I even read this book in the first place.  After all, it looks like based on everything I said I would hate it since I am not a huge fan of internet fads.  And yeah…to some degree that is true, but I thought it could be interesting to look at how an internet fad explodes and the aftermath it causes the people it surrounds.

That does not mean, I thought I’d get a cliche story with two characters who are pretty much being forced to be together when they shouldn’t.

Even though I DNF’d this mother fucker, I snuck a peak in the end and I did not like what I saw.   I think for this book to end well for me, it would’ve been for Gagnon to not do the cliche thing which she did.  I really wish, for example, that Kyle-fry guy-was not a main character.

He’s not bad, per say, but he is a dumb jock and adds nothing to the story other than being a dumb pretty jock.

Grant it, Rachel’s not that much better.  She’s one of those girls I would feel sorry for, but at the same time it would be hard to be nice to her because she is just annoying.  I’d probably just ignore her to be honest, but really she’s obnoxious and will be just as obnoxious as her mother when she’s older.

Spoiler alert, major bad parent alert.  I don’t think anyone in this book has decent parents which is always a shame, I’d rather the parents just be absent if their going to be jerks but Rachel’s mother brings bad parenting to another level.  Kyle’s mom is pretty horrible too.

Needless to say, I don’t recommend this one.  In my earlier blogging days, I might’ve tried to make  this review more amusing.  Have the Beagle review it with a  series of her internet “memes” but I’m just tired of books like this.  Overhyped and just blah and annoying.  It’s especially annoying because fandom/internet famous themed books seem to be popular these days and I think I’ve only read about two books where I just didn’t cringe at how “fake” the book sounds.  I know I’m technically on the older side of the social media trends, but I know enough that not everyone who has a blog, log, or Twitter account is going to go viral.

And Gagnon (and any other author) don’t use fake social media sites when you really mean Twitter or Instagram.  Your audience is not stupid, we know what you’re really talking about just use freaking Twitter.  Same goes with your Ellen wannabe.  I was easily able to see who the talkshow host was.  Be less obvious if you’re going to go with the fake celebrity host.

God.

Overall rating, DNF.  I wish I hadn’t bought it.

Leave a Reply

